2004-2005 University Calendar

This is an archived calendar and may not reflect the current academic dates recognized by the University.
To view the most recent calendar visit www.howard.edu/calendars.

(EXCEPT DENTISTRY, LAW, AND MEDICINE)
*Date Policy: Deadlines are listed according to the calendar date on which they fall, even if that date falls on a weekend or is a legal holiday. Such deadlines must be met by close of business of the business day immediately following a weekend or legal holiday.

Last Update: April 27, 2005


Table of Contents:

Fall (First) Semester

August 1, 2004, Sunday First deferred payment due for Fall 2004
August 14, Saturday Residence Halls open for check-in of new residents
August 16, Monday to
August 17, Tuesday
Orientation, Academic Advisement, Course Selection and
Payment of tuition/fees for new students and Former Students
Returning (FSR). Initial Financial Aid disbursement for Fall 2004
August 18, Wednesday to
August 20, Friday
LATE REGISTRATION for all students
August 18,Wednesday to
August 27, Friday
Consortium Registration
August 19, Thursday Residence Halls open for continuing students
August 20, Friday to
August 27, Friday
CHANGE OF PROGRAM PERIOD
(Add or drop a course without a grade of "W," change from one
section to another, change from credit to audit or audit to credit)
August 23, Monday FORMAL CLASSES BEGIN
August 23, Monday Initial Financial Aid disbursement for Fall 2004 (undergraduate and
graduate students)
August 28, Saturday COURSE WITHDRAWAL FEE EFFECTIVE*
August 29, Sunday Deadline for 100% refund of tuition/fees*
September 1, Wednesday Deadline for receipt of Application for Admission for Spring 2005
September 4, Saturday Graduate Expository Writing Examination for students
in the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences
September 6, Monday LABOR DAY - LEGAL HOLIDAY
September 10, Friday Deadline for faculty to submit Unofficial Withdrawal (UW) grades
via the web to Enrollment Management/Records for Fall 2004
September 20, Monday Financial Aid files closed for determination of credit hours for
Fall 2004 aid disbursements
September 24, Friday OPENING CONVOCATION
Crampton Auditorium, 11:00 A.M.
(Classes suspended 10:00 A.M. - 1:00 P.M.)
September 27, Monday Deadline for students checking out of Residence Halls to
receive 50% refund of housing charges
October 1, Friday Deadline for 50% refund of tuition/fees
October 1, Friday Preliminary Enrollment Census Date
October 4, Monday Deadline for prospective May 2005 graduates to submit
application for graduation to respective deans
October 11, Monday COLUMBUS DAY OBSERVED - LEGAL HOLIDAY
October 17, Sunday Deadline for students checking out of Residence Halls to
receive 25% refund of housing charges*
October 19, Tuesday Deadline for instructors to submit Mid-Term Status Reports
via the web to Enrollment Management/Records
October 21, Thursday Deadline for 25% refund of tuition/fees
(Last day for refunds)
October 21, Thursday Final Enrollment Census Date
October 27, Wednesday Second deferred payment due for Fall 2004
November 1, Monday Deadline for receipt of approved applications for Intra-
University Transfers for Spring 2005 in Enrollment
Management/Records
November 1, Monday Deadline for receipt of Federal Stafford and Federal
PLUS loan applications for Spring 2005
November 1, Monday Early Action deadline for receipt of Applications for
Admission for Fall 2005
November 1, Monday Senior Comprehensive Examination in major fields for
College of Arts and Sciences prospective December 2004
and May and Summer 2005 graduates
November 1, Monday to
November 12, Friday
GENERAL REGISTRATION (GR) for Spring 2005
November 11, Thursday VETERAN'S DAY - LEGAL HOLIDAY
November 12, Friday LAST DAY TO WITHDRAW FROM A COURSE
November 12, Friday LAST DAY TO COMPLETE A TOTAL WITHDRAWAL
FROM THE UNIVERSITY
November 25, Thursday to
November 28, Sunday
THANKSGIVING RECESS
December 3, Friday Deadline for students to clear Spring 2004 incomplete grades
with instructors
December 3, Friday FORMAL CLASSES END
December 4, Saturday to
December 6, Monday
READING PERIOD
December 7, Tuesday to
December 17, Friday
FINAL EXAMINATIONS
(Deadline for instructors to submit final grades via the web
is 5 calendar days after the scheduled final examination)
December 17, Friday FIRST SEMESTER ENDS
December 17, Friday Deadline for academic deans to submit Special Grade Reports to
Enrollment Management/Records for removal of incomplete grades
for Spring 2004
December 18, Saturday Residence Halls close at 5:00 P.M.
December 20, Monday First deferred payment due for Spring 2005

Spring (Second) Semester

December 20, 2004, Monday First deferred payment due for Spring 2005
January 3, 2005, Monday Residence Halls open for check-in of new residents
January 3, Monday Orientation begins for new undergraduate, graduate, and
transfer students
January 4, Tuesday Residence Halls open for continuing students
January 4, Tuesday and
January 5, Wednesday
ACADEMIC ADVISEMENT, COURSE REGISTRATION,
and PAYMENT of tuition/fees for all new students and
former students returning (FSR)
January 4, Tuesday to
January 7, Friday
Consortium Registration
January 5, Wednesday FORMAL CLASSES BEGIN
January 5, Wednesday Initial Financial Aid disbursement for Spring 2005 (undergraduate
and graduate students)
January 5, Wednesday to
January 7, Friday
LATE REGISTRATION for all students
January 5, Wednesday to
January 7, Friday
CHANGE OF PROGRAM PERIOD
(Add or drop a course without a grade of "W," change from
section to another, change from credit to audit or audit to credit)
January 8, Saturday COURSE WITHDRAWAL FEE EFFECTIVE*
January 8, Saturday Graduate Expository Writing Examination for students
in the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences
January 11, Tuesday Deadline for 100% refund of tuition/fees
January 17, Monday MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR.'S BIRTHDAY OBSERVED
- LEGAL HOLIDAY
January 21, Friday Deadline for receipt of December 2004 Graduation
Recommendations in Office of the Secretary of the
University - 5:00 P.M.
January 26, Wednesday Deadline for faculty to submit Unofficial Withdrawal (UW) grades
to Enrollment Management/Records for Spring 2005
February 2, Wednesday Financial Aid files closed for determination of credit hours for
Spring 2005 aid disbursements
February 9, Wednesday Deadline for students checking out of Residence Halls to
receive 50% refund of housing charges
February 13, Sunday Deadline for 50% refund of tuition/fees*
February 13, Sunday Preliminary Enrollment Census date
February 15, Tuesday Priority deadline for receipt of 2004-2005 Free Application for
Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) - FTIC
February 15, Tuesday Deadline for receipt of Applications for Admission for Fall 2005
February 21, Monday PRESIDENTS' DAY - LEGAL HOLIDAY
March 1, Tuesday Deadline for students checking out of Residence Halls to
receive 25% refund of housing charges
March 2, Wednesday Deadline for instructors to submit Mid-Term Status Reports
via the web to Enrollment Management/Records
March 4, Friday CHARTER DAY CONVOCATION
Cramton Auditorium, 11:00 A.M.
(Classes suspended 10:00 A.M. - 1:00 P.M.)
March 4, Friday Deadline for 25% refund of tuition/fees
(Last day for refunds)
March 4, Friday Final Enrollment Census date
March 12, Saturday Second deferred payment due for Spring 2005*
March 12, Saturday to
March 20, Sunday
SPRING RECESS
March 15, Tuesday Deadline for receipt of approved applications for Intra-University
Transfers for Fall 2005 in Enrollment Management/Records
March 15, Tuesday Priority deadline for receipt of 2004-2005 Free Application for
Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) - for continuing students
March 21, Monday to
April 1, Friday
GENERAL REGISTRATION (GR) for Fall 2005
April 1, Friday Deadline for receipt of advance payment from continuing students
to confirm housing assignments and waiting list positions for Fall 2005
April 1, Friday Deadline for receipt of Financial Aid applications for Summer 2005
April 2, Saturday Senior Comprehensive Examination in major fields for
College of Arts and Sciences prospective May, Summer,
and December 2005 graduates
April 8, Friday LAST DAY TO WITHDRAW FROM A COURSE
April 8, Friday LAST DAY TO COMPLETE A TOTAL WITHDRAWAL
FROM THE UNIVERSITY
April 11, Monday to
April 24, Sunday
GENERAL REGISTRATION (GR) for Summer 2005
April 15, Friday Deadline for receipt of approved applications for Intra-
University Transfers for Summer 2005
April 15, Friday Deadline for receipt of Housing applications for continuing
students for Summer 2005
April 25, Monday to
April 27, Wednesday
FINAL EXAMINATIONS FOR PROSPECTIVE
GRADUATES
April 28, Thursday DEADLINE FOR INSTRUCTORS TO SUBMIT GRADES
FOR PROSPECTIVE GRADUATES - 3:OO P.M.
April 28, Thursday FORMAL CLASSES END
April 28, Thursday Deadline for students to clear Fall 2004 incomplete grades
with instructors
April 29, Friday to
May 2, Monday
READING PERIOD
May 3, Tuesday to
May 13, Friday
FINAL EXAMINATIONS
(Deadline for instructors to submit final grades via the web
deans is 5 calendar days after the scheduled final examination)
May 12, Thursday Deadline for receipt of May 2005 Graduation Recommendations
in Office of the Secretary of the University - 5:00 P.M.
May 13, Friday SECOND SEMESTER ENDS
May 13, Friday Deadline for academic deans to submit Special Grade Reports to
Enrollment Management/Records for removal of incomplete
grades for Fall 2004
May 14, Saturday COMMENCEMENT
Upper Quadrangle - Main Campus, 10:00 A.M.
May 15, Sunday Residence Halls close at 5:00 P.M.
May 23, Monday Evaluate Satisfactory Academic Progress for 2004-2005

Summer School 2005

SESSION I:   SESSION II:
May 20 - July 2   July 5 - Aug 13
Registration: May 18 and 19   Registration: June 30 and July 1

Session I

May 18, 2005, Wednesday Residence Halls open for check-in of summer residents
May 18, Wednesday and
May 19, Thursday
REGISTRATION for all students
May 20, Friday to
May 24, Tuesday
LATE REGISTRATION for all students
May 20, Friday FORMAL CLASSES BEGIN
May 20, Friday Initial Financial aid disbursement for Summer 2005 Session I
(undergraduate and graduate students)
May 20, Friday Deadline for 100% refund of tuition/fees
May 20, Friday to
May 24, Tuesday
CHANGE OF PROGRAM PERIOD
(Add or drop a course without a grade of "W," change
from one section to another, change from credit to audit
or audit to credit)
May 25, Wednesday Financial Aid files closed for determination of credit hours for
Summer 2005 aid disbursements
May 25, Wednesday Deadline for 50% refund of tuition/fees
May 30, Monday MEMORIAL DAY OBSERVED - LEGAL HOLIDAY
May 30, Monday Deadline for 25% refund of tuition/fees*
June 10, Friday LAST DAY TO WITHDRAW FROM A COURSE
June 25, Saturday Official GRADUATION DATE for Summer 2005 degree recipients
in the Colleges of Dentistry and Medicine only
June 29, Wednesday FORMAL CLASSES END
June 29, Wednesday LAST DAY TO COMPLETE A TOTAL WITHDRAWAL
FROM THE UNIVERSITY (for First Six-week Session)
June 30, Thursday to
July 2, Saturday
FINAL EXAMINATIONS
(Deadline for instructors to submit final grades to academic
deans is 3 calendar days after the scheduled final examination)
July 2, Saturday FIRST SIX-WEEK SUMMER SESSION ENDS

Final Examination Schedule for Session I

June 30, Thursday   6:30 A.M. - 8:30 A.M.
June 30, Thursday   8:00 A.M. - 10:00 A.M.
July 1, Friday   8:00 A.M. - 10:00 A.M.
July 2, Saturday   9:00 A.M. - 11.00 A.M.
June 30, Thursday   11:00 A.M. - 1:00 P.M.
July 1, Friday   11:00 A.M. - 1:00 P.M.
June 30, Thursday   2:00 P.M. - 4:00 P.M.
July 1, Friday   2:00 P.M. - 4:00 P.M.
June 30, Thursday   6:00 P.M. - 8:00 P.M.
June 30, Thursday   6:00 P.M. - 8:00 P.M.
July 1, Friday   6:00 P.M. - 8:00 P.M.
July 1, Friday   6:00 P.M. - 8:00 P.M.

Session II

June 30, Thursday and REGISTRATION for all students
July 1, Friday
July 4, Monday INDEPENDENCE DAY OBSERVED - LEGAL HOLIDAY
July 5, Tuesday and
July 6, Wednesday
LATE REGISTRATION for all students
July 5, Tuesday FORMAL CLASSES BEGIN
July 5, Tuesday Initial Financial Aid disbursement for Summer 2005 Session II
(undergraduate and graduate students)
July 5, Tuesday Deadline for 100% refund of tuition/fees
July 5, Tuesday and
July 6, Wednesday
CHANGE OF PROGRAM PERIOD
(Add or drop a course without a grade of "W," change
from one section to another, change from credit to audit
or audit to credit)
July 8, Friday Financial Aid files closed for determination of credit hours for
Summer 2005 aid disbursements
July 10, Sunday Deadline for 50% refund of tuition/fees*
July 15, Friday Deadline for 25% refund of tuition/fees
July 22, Friday LAST DAY TO WITHDRAW FROM A COURSE
August 10, Wednesday FORMAL CLASSES END
August 10, Wednesday LAST DAY TO COMPLETE A TOTAL WITHDRAWAL
FROM THE UNIVERSITY (for Second Six-week Session)
August 11, Thursday to
August 13, Saturday
FINAL EXAMINATIONS
(Deadline for instructors to submit final grades to academic
deans is 3 calendar days after the scheduled final examination)
August 13, Saturday SECOND SIX-WEEK SUMMER SESSION ENDS

Final Examination Schedule for Session II

August 11, Thursday   6:30 A.M. - 8:30 A.M.
August 11, Thursday   8:00 A.M. - 10:00 A.M.
August 112, Friday   8:00 A.M. - 10:00 A.M.
August 13, Saturday   9:00 A.M. - 11.00 A.M.
August 11, Thursday   11:00 A.M. - 1:00 P.M.
August 12, Friday   11:00 A.M. - 1:00 P.M.
August 11, Thursday   2:00 P.M. - 4:00 P.M.
August 12, Friday   2:00 P.M. - 4:00 P.M.
August 11, Thursday   6:00 P.M. - 8:00 P.M.
August 11, Thursday   6:00 P.M. - 8:00 P.M.
August 12, Friday   6:00 P.M. - 8:00 P.M.
August 12, Friday   6:00 P.M. - 8:00 P.M.