2006-2007 University Calendar

(EXCEPT DENTISTRY, LAW, AND MEDICINE)
*Date Policy: Deadlines are listed according to the calendar date on which they fall, even if that date falls on a weekend or is a legal holiday. Such deadlines must be met by close of business of the business day immediately following a weekend or legal holiday.

Last Update: May 10, 2006


Table of Contents:

Fall (First) Semester

August 1, 2006, Tuesday First deferred payment due for Fall 2006
August 19, Saturday Residence Halls open for check-in of new residents
August 19, Saturday to
August 22, Tuesday
Payment of tuition/fees for new students, transfer and Former Students Returning (FSR). Initial Financial Aid disbursement for Fall 2006.
August 21, Monday to
August 22, Tuesday
Orientation, Academic Advisement, Course Selection for new students, transfers and Former Students Returning (FSR).
August 23, Wednesday to
August 25, Friday
LATE REGISTRATION for all students
August 23, Wednesday to
September 1, Friday
Consortium Registration
August 24, Thursday Residence Halls open for continuing students
August 25, Friday to
September 1, Friday
CHANGE OF PROGRAM PERIOD
(Add or drop a course without a grade of "W," change from one section to another, change from credit to audit or audit to credit)
August 28, Monday FORMAL CLASSES BEGIN
August 28, Monday Initial Financial Aid disbursement for Fall 2006 (undergraduate and graduate students). NOTE: Student Financial Services will begin check processing in 7 to 10 days following the disbursement of Financial Aid.
September 1, Friday Deadline for receipt of Application for Admission for Spring 2007
September 2, Saturday COURSE WITHDRAWAL FEE EFFECTIVE*
September 3, Sunday Deadline for 100% refund of tuition/fees*
September 4, Monday LABOR DAY - LEGAL HOLIDAY
September 9, Saturday Graduate Expository Writing Examination for students in the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences
September 18, Monday Financial Aid files closed for determination of credit hours for Fall 2006 aid disbursements
September 29, Friday OPENING CONVOCATION
Cramton Auditorium, 11:00 A.M.
(Classes suspended 10:00 A.M. - 1:00 P.M.)
October 2, Monday Deadline for students checking out of Residence Halls to receive 50% refund of housing charges
October 6, Friday Preliminary Enrollment Census Date
October 6, Friday Deadline for 50% refund of tuition/fees
October 9, Monday COLUMBUS DAY OBSERVED - LEGAL HOLIDAY
October 9, Monday Deadline for prospective May 2007 graduates to submit application for graduation to respective deans*
October 22, Sunday Deadline for students checking out of Residence Halls to receive 25% refund of housing charges*
October 24, Tuesday Deadline for instructors to submit Mid-Term Status Reports via the web to Enrollment Management/Records
October 24, Tuesday Deadline for faculty to submit Unofficial Withdrawal (UW) and Never Reported (NR) grades via the Web to Enrollment Management/Records for Fall 2006
October 24, Tuesday Second deferred payment due for Fall 2006
October 26, Thursday Final Enrollment Census Date
October 26, Thursday Deadline for 25% refund of tuition/fees (Last day for refunds)
November 1, Wednesday Deadline for receipt of approved applications for Intra-University Transfers for Spring 2007 in Enrollment Management/Records
November 1, Wednesday Deadline for receipt of Federal Stafford and Federal PLUS loan applications for Spring 2007
November 1, Wednesday Early Action deadline for receipt of Applications for Admission for Fall 2007
November 4, Saturday Senior Comprehensive Examination in major fields for College of Arts and Sciences prospective December 2006 and May and Summer 2007 graduates
November 6, Monday to
November 17, Friday
GENERAL REGISTRATION (GR) for Spring 2007
November 10, Friday VETERAN'S DAY OBSERVED - LEGAL HOLIDAY
November 17, Friday LAST DAY TO WITHDRAW FROM A COURSE
November 17, Friday LAST DAY TO COMPLETE A TOTAL WITHDRAWAL FROM THE UNIVERSITY
November 23, Thursday to
November 26, Sunday
THANKSGIVING RECESS
December 7, Thursday Deadline for students to clear Spring 2006 incomplete grades with instructors
December 7, Thursday FORMAL CLASSES END
December 8, Friday to
December 10, Sunday
READING PERIOD
December 11, Monday to
December 21, Thursday
FINAL EXAMINATIONS
(Deadline for instructors to submit final grades via the web is 5 calendar days after the scheduled final examination)
December 18, Monday First deferred payment due for Spring 2007
December 21, Thursday FIRST SEMESTER ENDS
December 21, Thursday Deadline for academic deans to submit Special Grade Reports to Enrollment Management/Records for removal of incomplete grades for Spring 2006
December 22, Friday Residence Halls close at 5:00 P.M.

Departmental Examination Schedule

English 002 & 003   Monday, December 11   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
Accounting Principles 1   Monday, December 11   10:15 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.
French 001, 002, & 003   Monday, December 11   12:30 noon – 2:30 p.m.
Spanish 001, 002, & 003   Monday, December 11   12:30 noon – 2:30 p.m.
Social Science   Monday, December 11   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
General Physics   Monday, December 11   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Management Info. Systems   Monday, December 11   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Economics 001 & 002   Tuesday, December 12   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
Finance Principles   Tuesday, December 12   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
Accounting Principles   Tuesday, December 12   10:15 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.
Comprehensive Sciences   Tuesday, December 12   12:30 noon – 2:30 p.m.
Classical Mythology   Tuesday, December 12   12:30 noon – 2:30 p.m.
Academic Reinforcement   Tuesday, December 12   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Mathematics   Tuesday, December 12   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.

Course Examination Schedule

8:10 MWF   Wednesday, December 13   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
8:10 TTH   Thursday, December 14   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
9:10 MWF   Friday, December 15   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
9:40 TTH   Monday, December 18   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
10:10 MWF   Tuesday, December 19   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
11:10 MWF   Wednesday, December 20   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
11:10 TTH   Thursday, December 21   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
12:10 MWF   Wednesday, December 13   12:00 noon – 2:00 p.m.
12:40 MW   Wednesday, December 13   12:00 noon – 2:00 p.m.
12:40 TTH   Thursday, December 14   12:00 noon – 2:00 p.m.
1:10 MWF   Friday, December 15   12:00 noon – 2:00 p.m.
2:10 MWF   Monday, December 18   12:00 noon – 2:00 p.m.
2:10TTH   Tuesday, December 19   12:00 noon – 2:00 p.m.
3:10 MWF   Wednesday, December 20   12:00 noon – 2:00 p.m.
3:40 TTH   Thursday, December 21   12:00 noon – 2:00 p.m.
4:10 MWF   Wednesday, December 13   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
5:10 MWF   Thursday, December 14   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
5:10 TTH   Friday, December 15   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
6:10 MWF   Monday, December 18   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
6:40 TTH   Tuesday, December 19   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
7:10 MWF   Wednesday, December 20   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
8:10 MWF   Thursday, December 21   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
8:10 TTH   Wednesday, December 20   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
9:10 MWF   Thursday, December 21   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.

Note: For those classes that meet once weekly or at a time not shown above, the instructor should schedule, in consultation with the student(s) involved, the final exam (if any). These instructors should contact EM/Records to arrange for an examination room.

Spring (Second) Semester

December 18, 2006, Monday First deferred payment due for Spring 2007
January 2, 2007, Tuesday Residence Halls open for check-in of new residents
January 2, Tuesday Orientation begins for new undergraduate, graduate, and transfer students
January 3, Wednesday Residence Halls open for continuing students
January 3, Wednesday and
January 4, Thursday
ACADEMIC ADVISEMENT, COURSE REGISTRATION, and PAYMENT of tuition/fees for all new students and former students returning (FSR)
January 3, Wednesday to
January 5, Friday
Consortium Registration
January 4, Thursday FORMAL CLASSES BEGIN
January 4, Thursday Initial Financial Aid disbursement for Spring 2007 (undergraduate and graduate students)
January 4, Thursday to
January 10, Wednesday
LATE REGISTRATION for all students
January 4, Thursday to
January 10, Wednesday
CHANGE OF PROGRAM PERIOD
(Add or drop a course without a grade of "W," change from section to another, change from credit to audit or audit to credit)
January 6, Saturday COURSE WITHDRAWAL FEE EFFECTIVE*
January 6, Saturday Graduate Expository Writing Examination for students in the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences
January 10, Wednesday Deadline for 100% refund of tuition/fees
January 15, Monday MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR.'S BIRTHDAY OBSERVED - LEGAL HOLIDAY
January 19, Friday Deadline for receipt of December 2006 Graduation Recommendations in Office of the Secretary of the University - 5:00 P.M.
February 2, Friday Financial Aid files closed for determination of credit hours for Spring 2007 aid disbursements
February 9, Friday Deadline for students checking out of Residence Halls to receive 50% refund of housing charges
February 12, Monday Preliminary Enrollment Census date
February 12, Monday Deadline for 50% refund of tuition/fees
February 15, Thursday Priority deadline for receipt of 2007-2008 Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) - FTIC
February 15, Thursday Deadline for receipt of Applications for Admission for Fall 2007
February 19, Monday PRESIDENTS' DAY OBSERVED - LEGAL HOLIDAY
March 1, Thursday Deadline for students checking out of Residence Halls to receive 25% refund of housing charges
March 2, Friday Deadline for instructors to submit Mid-Term Status Reports via the web to Enrollment Management/Records
March 2, Friday Deadline for instructors to submit Unofficial Withdrawal (UW) and Never Reported (NR) grades to Enrollment Management/Records for Spring 2007
March 4, Sunday Deadline for 25% refund of tuition/fees*
(Last day for refunds)
March 4, Sunday Final Enrollment Census date*
March 9, Friday CHARTER DAY CONVOCATION
Cramton Auditorium, 11:00 A.M.
(Classes suspended 10:00 A.M. - 1:00 P.M.)
March 11, Sunday Second deferred payment due for Spring 2007*
March 15, Thursday Deadline for receipt of approved applications for Intra-University Transfers for Fall 2007 in Enrollment Management/Records
March 15, Thursday Priority deadline for receipt of 2007-2008 Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) - for continuing students and Former Students Returning (FSRs)
March 17, Saturday to
March 25, Sunday
SPRING RECESS
March 26, Monday to
April 6, Friday
GENERAL REGISTRATION (GR) for Fall 2007
March 31, Saturday Senior Comprehensive Examination in major fields for College of Arts and Sciences prospective May, Summer, and December 2007 graduates
April 2, Monday Deadline for receipt of advance payment from continuing students to confirm housing assignments and waiting list positions for Fall 2007
April 2, Monday Deadline for receipt of Financial Aid applications for Summer 2007
April 9, Monday LAST DAY TO WITHDRAW FROM A COURSE
April 9, Monday LAST DAY TO COMPLETE A TOTAL WITHDRAWAL FROM THE UNIVERSITY
April 16, Monday to
April 29, Sunday
GENERAL REGISTRATION (GR) for Summer 2007
April 15, Saturday Deadline for receipt of Housing applications for continuing students for Summer 2006*
April 16, Monday Deadline for receipt of approved applications for Intra-University Transfers for Summer 2007
April 23, Monday to
April 25, Wednesday
FINAL EXAMINATIONS FOR PROSPECTIVE GRADUATES
April 26, Thursday DEADLINE FOR INSTRUCTORS TO SUBMIT GRADES FOR PROSPECTIVE GRADUATES - 3:OO P.M.
April 26, Thursday FORMAL CLASSES END
April 26, Thursday Deadline for students to clear Fall 2006 incomplete grades with instructors
April 27, Friday to
April 30, Monday
READING PERIOD
May 1, Tuesday to
May 11, Friday
FINAL EXAMINATIONS
(Deadline for instructors to submit final grades via the web deans is 5 calendar days after the scheduled final examination)
May 10, Thursday Deadline for receipt of May 2007 Graduation Recommendations in Office of the Secretary of the University - 5:00 P.M.
May 11, Friday SECOND SEMESTER ENDS
May 11, Friday Deadline for academic deans to submit Special Grade Reports to Enrollment Management/Records for removal of incomplete grades for Fall 2006
May 12, Saturday COMMENCEMENT
Upper Quadrangle - Main Campus, 10:00 A.M.
May 13, Sunday Residence Halls close at 5:00 P.M.
May 21, Monday Evaluate Satisfactory Academic Progress for 2006-2007

Departmental Examination Schedule

English 002 & 003   Tuesday, May 1   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
Accounting Principles 1   Tuesday, May 1   10:15 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.
French 001, 002, & 003   Tuesday, May 1   12:30 noon – 2:30 p.m.
Spanish 001, 002, & 003   Tuesday, May 1   12:30 noon – 2:30 p.m.
Social Science   Tuesday, May 1   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
General Physics   Tuesday, May 1   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Management Info. Systems   Tuesday, May 1   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
 
Economics 001 & 002   Wednesday, May 2   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
Finance Principles   Wednesday, May 2   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
Accounting Principles   Wednesday, May 2   10:15 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.
Comprehensive Sciences   Wednesday, May 2   12:30 noon – 2:30 p.m.
Classical Mythology   Wednesday, May 2   12:30 noon – 2:30 p.m.
Academic Reinforcement   Wednesday, May 2   1:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Mathematics   Wednesday, May 2   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.

Course Examination Schedule

8:10 MWF   Thursday, May 3   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
8:10 TTH   Friday, May 4   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
9:10 MWF   Monday, May 7   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
9:40 TTH   Tuesday, May 8   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
10:10 MWF   Wednesday, May 9   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
11:10 MWF   Thursday, May 10   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
11:10 TTH   Friday, May 11   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
 
12:10 MWF   Thursday, May 3   12:00 noon – 2:00 p.m.
12:40 MW   Thursday, May 3   12:00 noon – 2:00 p.m.
12:40 TTH   Friday, May 4   12:00 noon – 2:00 p.m.
1:10 MWF   Monday, May 7   12:00 noon – 2:00 p.m.
2:10 MWF   Tuesday, May 8   12:00 noon – 2:00 p.m.
2:10TTH   Wednesday, May 9   12:00 noon – 2:00 p.m.
3:10 MWF   Thursday, May 10   12:00 noon – 2:00 p.m.
3:40 TTH   Friday, May 11   12:00 noon – 2:00 p.m.
 
4:10 MWF   Thursday, May 3   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
5:10 MWF   Friday, May 4   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
5:10 TTH   Monday, May 7   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
6:10 MWF   Tuesday, May 8   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
6:40 TTH   Wednesday, May 9   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
7:10 MWF   Thursday, May 10   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
8:10 MWF   Friday, May 11   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
8:10 TTH   Thursday, May 10   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
9:10 MWF   Friday, May 11   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.

Summer School 2007

SESSION I:   SESSION II:
May 18 - June 30   July 2 - Aug 11
Registration: May 16 and 17   Registration: June 28 and 29

Session I

May 16, 2007, Wednesday Residence Halls open for check-in of summer residents
May 16, Wednesday and
May 17, Thursday
REGISTRATION for all students
May 18, Friday to
May 22, Tuesday
LATE REGISTRATION for all students
May 18, Friday FORMAL CLASSES BEGIN
May 18, Friday Initial Financial aid disbursement for Summer 2007 Session I (undergraduate and graduate students). NOTE: Student Financial Services will begin check processing in 7 to 10 days following the disbursement of Financial Aid.
May 21, Monday Deadline for 100% refund of tuition/fees
May 18, Friday to
May 22, Tuesday
CHANGE OF PROGRAM PERIOD
(Add or drop a course without a grade of "W," change from one section to another, change from credit to audit or audit to credit)
May 22, Tuesday Deadline for faculty to submit Unofficial Withdrawal (UW) and Never Reported (NR) grades via the Web to Enrollment Management/Records for Summer Session I 2007
May 23, Wednesday Financial Aid files closed for determination of credit hours for Summer 2007 aid disbursements
May 26, Saturday Deadline for 50% refund of tuition/fees
May 28, Monday MEMORIAL DAY OBSERVED - LEGAL HOLIDAY
May 31, Thursday Deadline for 25% refund of tuition/fees*
June 8, Friday LAST DAY TO WITHDRAW FROM A COURSE
June 23, Saturday Official GRADUATION DATE for Summer 2007 degree recipients in the Colleges of Dentistry and Medicine only
June 27, Wednesday FORMAL CLASSES END
June 27, Wednesday LAST DAY TO COMPLETE A TOTAL WITHDRAWAL FROM THE UNIVERSITY (for First Six-week Session)
June 28, Thursday to
June 30, Saturday
FINAL EXAMINATIONS
(Deadline for instructors to submit final grades to academic deans is 3 calendar days after the scheduled final examination)
June 30, Saturday FIRST SIX-WEEK SUMMER SESSION ENDS

Final Examination Schedule for Session I

6:30 AM Classes

 

June 28, Thursday

 

6:30 AM – 8:30 AM

7:30 AM Classes

 

June 28, Thursday

 

8:00 AM – 10:00 AM

9:15 AM Classes

 

June 29, Friday

 

8:00 AM- 10:00 AM

9:00 AM Classes

 

June 30, Saturday

 

9:00 AM – 11:00 AM

11:00 AM Classes

 

June 28, Thursday

 

11:00 AM – 1:00 PM

1:00 PM Classes

 

June 29, Friday

 

11:00 AM – 1:00 PM

2:45 PM Classes

 

June 28, Thursday

 

2:00 PM – 4:00 PM

4:30 PM Classes

 

June 29, Friday

 

2:00 PM – 4:00 PM

5:30 PM Classes

 

June 28, Thursday

 

6:00 PM – 8:00 PM

6:15 PM Classes

 

June 28, Thursday

 

6:00 PM – 8:00 PM

7:30 PM Classes

 

June 29, Friday

 

6:00 PM – 8:00 PM

8:00 PM Classes

 

June 29, Friday

 

6:00 PM – 8:00 PM

Session II

June 28, Thursday and
June 29, Friday
REGISTRATION for all students
July 2, Monday and
July 3, Tuesday
LATE REGISTRATION for all students
July 3, Tuesday FORMAL CLASSES BEGIN
July 3, Tuesday Initial Financial Aid disbursement for Summer 2007 Session II (undergraduate and graduate students). NOTE: Student Financial Services will begin check processing in 7 to 10 days following the disbursement.
July 3, Tuesday and
July 5, Thursday
CHANGE OF PROGRAM PERIOD
(Add or drop a course without a grade of "W," change from one section to another, change from credit to audit or audit to credit)
July 4, Wednesday INDEPENDENCE DAY - LEGAL HOLIDAY
July 5, Thursday Deadline for 100% refund of tuition/fees
July 5, Thursday Deadline for faculty to submit Unofficial Withdrawal (UW) and Never Reported (NR) grades via the Web to Enrollment Management/Records for Summer Session II 2007
July 6, Friday Financial Aid files closed for determination of credit hours for Summer 2007 aid disbursements
July 10, Tuesday Deadline for 50% refund of tuition/fees*
July 15, Sunday Deadline for 25% refund of tuition/fees
July 20, Friday LAST DAY TO WITHDRAW FROM A COURSE
August 8, Wednesday FORMAL CLASSES END
August 8, Wednesday LAST DAY TO COMPLETE A TOTAL WITHDRAWAL FROM THE UNIVERSITY (for Second Six-week Session)
August 9, Thursday to
August 11, Saturday
FINAL EXAMINATIONS
(Deadline for instructors to submit final grades to academic deans is 3 calendar days after the scheduled final examination)
August 11, Saturday SECOND SIX-WEEK SUMMER SESSION ENDS

Final Examination Schedule for Session II

6:30 AM Classes

 

August 9, Thursday

 

6:30 AM – 8:30 AM

7:30 AM Classes

 

August 9, Thursday

 

8:00 AM – 10:00 AM

9:15 AM Classes

 

August 10, Friday

 

8:00 AM- 10:00 AM

9:00 AM Classes

 

August 11, Saturday

 

9:00 AM – 11:00 AM

11:00 AM Classes

 

August 9, Thursday

 

11:00 AM – 1:00 PM

1:00 PM Classes

 

August 10, Friday

 

11:00 AM – 1:00 PM

2:45 PM Classes

 

August 9, Thursday

 

2:00 PM – 4:00 PM

4:30 PM Classes

 

August 10, Friday

 

2:00 PM – 4:00 PM

5:30 PM Classes

 

August 9, Thursday

 

6:00 PM – 8:00 PM

6:15 PM Classes

 

August 9, Thursday

 

6:00 PM – 8:00 PM

7:30 PM Classes

 

August 10, Friday

 

6:00 PM – 8:00 PM

8:00 PM Classes

 

August 10, Friday

 

6:00 PM – 8:00 PM