2008-2009 University Calendar

(EXCEPT DENTISTRY, LAW, AND MEDICINE)
*Date Policy: Deadlines are listed according to the calendar date on which they fall, even if that date falls on a weekend or is a legal holiday. Such deadlines must be met by close of business of the business day immediately following a weekend or legal holiday.

Last Updated: March 25, 2008


Table of Contents:

Fall (First) Semester 2008

August 1, 2008, Friday First deferred payment due for Fall 2008
August 16, Saturday Residence Halls open for check-in of new residents
August 16, Saturday to
August 19, Tuesday
Payment of tuition/fees for new students, transfer and Former Students Returning (FSR).
August 18, Monday to
August 20, Wednesday
Orientation, Academic Advisement, Course Selection for new students, transfers and Former Students Returning (FSR).
August 21, Thursday Residence Halls open for continuing students
August 21, Thursday to
August 29, Friday
LATE REGISTRATION for all students
August 25, Monday FORMAL CLASSES BEGIN
August 25, Monday Initial Financial Aid disbursement for Fall 2008 (undergraduate and graduate students). NOTE: Student Financial Services will begin check processing in 7 to 10 days following the disbursement of Financial Aid.
August 25, Monday to
August 29, Friday
CHANGE OF PROGRAM PERIOD
(Add or drop a course without a grade of "W," change from one section to another, change from credit to audit or audit to credit)
August 25, Monday to
September 5, Friday
Consortium Registration
August 30, Saturday COURSE WITHDRAWAL FEE EFFECTIVE*
August 31, Sunday Deadline for 100% refund of tuition/fees*
September 1, Monday LABOR DAY - LEGAL HOLIDAY
September 1, Monday Deadline for receipt of Application for Admission for Spring 2009*
September 12, Friday Deadline for receipt of SU 2008 Graduation Recommendations in Office of the Secretary of the University - 5:00 P.M.
September 15, Monday Financial Aid files closed for determination of credit hours for Fall 2008 aid disbursements
September 26, Friday OPENING CONVOCATION
Cramton Auditorium, 11:00 A.M.
(Classes suspended 10:00 A.M. - 1:00 P.M.)
September 29, Monday Deadline for students checking out of Residence Halls to receive 50% refund of housing charges
October 3, Friday Preliminary Enrollment Census Date
October 3, Friday Deadline for 50% refund of tuition/fees
October 13, Monday COLUMBUS DAY OBSERVED - LEGAL HOLIDAY
October 13, Monday Deadline for prospective May 2009 graduates to submit application for graduation to respective deans*
October 19, Sunday Deadline for students checking out of Residence Halls to receive 25% refund of housing charges*
October 21, Tuesday Deadline for instructors to submit Mid-Term Status Reports via the web to Enrollment Management/Records
October 21, Tuesday Deadline for faculty to submit Unofficial Withdrawal (UW) and Never Reported (NR) grades via the Web to Enrollment Management/Records for Fall 2008
October 23, Thursday Final Enrollment Census Date
October 23, Thursday Deadline for 25% refund of tuition/fees (Last day for refunds)
October 28, Tuesday Second deferred payment due for Fall 2008
November 1, Saturday Deadline for receipt of approved applications for Intra-University Transfers for Spring 2009 in Enrollment Management/Records*
November 1, Saturday Early Action deadline for receipt of Applications for Admission for Fall 2009*
November 1, Saturday Senior Comprehensive Examination in major fields for College of Arts and Sciences prospective December 2008 and May and Summer 2009 graduates
November 3, Monday to
November 14, Friday
GENERAL REGISTRATION (GR) for Spring 2009
November 11, Tuesday VETERAN'S DAY - LEGAL HOLIDAY
November 14, Friday LAST DAY TO WITHDRAW FROM A COURSE
November 14, Friday LAST DAY TO COMPLETE A TOTAL WITHDRAWAL FROM THE UNIVERSITY
November 27, Thursday to
November 30, Sunday
THANKSGIVING RECESS
December 2, Tuesday to
December 3, Wednesday
FINAL EXAMINATIONS FOR PROSPECTIVE DECEMBER 2008 GRADUATES
December 4, Thursday DEADLINE FOR INSTRUCTORS TO SUBMIT FINAL GRADES FOR PROSPECTIVE DECEMBER 2008 GRADUATES - 3:OO P.M.
December 4, Thursday Deadline for students to clear Spring 2008 incomplete grades with instructors
December 4, Thursday FORMAL CLASSES END
December 5, Friday to
December 7, Sunday
READING PERIOD
December 8, Monday to
December 9, Tuesday
DEPARTMENTAL EXAMINATIONS
(Deadline for instructors to submit final grades via the web is 5 calendar days after the scheduled final examination)
December 10, Wednesday to
December 17, Wednesday
FINAL EXAMINATIONS
(Deadline for instructors to submit final grades via the web is 5 calendar days after the scheduled final examination)
December 15, Monday First deferred payment due for Spring 2009
December 17, Wednesday FIRST SEMESTER ENDS
December 17, Wednesday Deadline for academic deans to submit Special Grade Reports to Enrollment Management/Records for removal of incomplete grades for Spring 2008
December 18, Thursday Residence Halls close at 5:00 P.M.

Departmental Examination Schedule

English 002 & 003   Monday, December 8   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
Accounting Principles 1   Monday, December 8   10:15 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.
French 001, 002, & 003   Monday, December 8   12:30 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.
Spanish 001, 002, & 003   Monday, December 8   12:30 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.
Social Science   Monday, December 8   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
General Physics   Monday, December 8   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Management Info. Systems   Monday, December 8   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Economics 001 & 002   Tuesday, December 9   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
Finance Principles   Tuesday, December 9   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
Accounting Principles   Tuesday, December 9   10:15 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.
Comprehensive Sciences   Tuesday, December 9   12:30 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.
Classical Mythology   Tuesday, December 9   12:30 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.
Academic Reinforcement   Tuesday, December 9   1:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Mathematics   Tuesday, December 9   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.

Course Examination Schedule

8:10 a.m. MWF   Wednesday, December 10   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
8:10 a.m. TTH   Thursday, December 11   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
9:10 a.m. MWF   Friday, December 12   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
9:40 a.m. TTH   Monday, December 15   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
10:10 a.m. MWF   Tuesday, December 16   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
11:10 a.m. MWF   Wednesday, December 17   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
11:10 a.m. TTH   Wednesday, December 17   11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
12:10 p.m. MWF   Wednesday, December 10   11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
12:40 p.m. MW   Wednesday, December 10   11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
12:40 p.m. TTH   Thursday, December 11   11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
1:10 p.m. MWF   Friday, December 12   11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
2:10 p.m. MWF   Monday, December 15   11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
2:10 p.m. TTH   Tuesday, December 16   11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
3:10 p.m. MWF   Monday, December 15   2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
3:40 p.m. TTH   Tuesday, December 16   2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
4:10 p.m. MWF   Wednesday, December 10   2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
5:10 p.m. MWF   Thursday, December 11   2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
5:10 p.m. TTH   Friday, December 12   2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
9:10 p.m. MWF   Wednesday, December 17   2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
6:10 p.m. MWF   Wednesday, December 10   5:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.
6:40 p.m. TTH   Thursday, December 11   5:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.
7:10 p.m. MWF   Friday, December 12   5:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.
8:10 p.m. MWF   Monday, December 15   5:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.
8:10 p.m. TTH   Tuesday, December 16   5:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.

Note: For those classes that meet once weekly or at a time not shown above, the instructor should schedule, in consultation with the student(s) involved, the final exam (if any). these instructors should contact EM/Records to arrange for an examination room.

Spring (Second) Semester

December 15, 2008, Monday First deferred payment due for Spring 2009 for continuing students
January 5, Monday Residence Halls open for check-in of New Residents
January 5, Monday Orientation begins for new undergraduate, graduate, and transfer students
January 5, Monday and
January 6, Tuesday
ACADEMIC ADVISEMENT, COURSE REGISTRATION, and PAYMENT of tuition/fees for all New Students and Former Students Returning (FSR)
January 6, Tuesday Residence Halls open for continuing students
January 7, Wednesday to
January 13, Tuesday
Consortium Registration
January 7, Wednesday FORMAL CLASSES BEGIN
January 7, Wednesday Initial Financial Aid disbursement for Spring 2009 (undergraduate and graduate students)Note: Student Financial Services will begin refund processing in 7 to 10 days following aid disbursement.
January 7, Wednesday to
January 13, Tuesday
LATE REGISTRATION/CHANGE OF PROGRAM for all students
January 9, Friday Deadline for receipt of December 2008 Graduation Recommendations in Office of the Secretary of the University - 5:00 P.M.
January 13, Tuesday Deadline for 100% refund of tuition/fees
January 15, Thursday COURSE WITHDRAWAL FEE EFFECTIVE
January 19, Monday MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR.'S BIRTHDAY OBSERVED - LEGAL HOLIDAY
January 23, Friday Financial Aid files closed for determination of credit hours for Spring 2009 aid disbursements
January 30, Friday Deadline for students checking out of Residence Halls to receive 50% refund of housing and meal plan charges
February 15, Sunday Priority deadline for receipt of 2009-2010 Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) - NEW*
February 15, Sunday Deadline for receipt of Applications for Admission for Fall 2009*
February 16, Monday PRESIDENTS' DAY OBSERVED - LEGAL HOLIDAY
February 15, Sunday Preliminary Enrollment Census date
February 15, Sunday Deadline for 50% refund of tuition/fees*
February 20, Friday Deadline for students checking out of Residence Halls to receive 25% refund of housing and meal plan charges
February 25, Wednesday Deadline for instructors to submit Mid-Term Status Reports via the web to Enrollment Management/Records
February 25, Wednesday Deadline for instructors to submit Unofficial Withdrawal (UW) and Never Reported (NR) grades to Enrollment Management/Records for Spring 2009
March 7, Saturday Deadline for 25% refund of tuition/fees (Last day for refunds)*
March 7, Saturday Final Enrollment Census date
March 13, Friday CHARTER DAY CONVOCATION
Cramton Auditorium, 11:00 A.M.
(Classes suspended 10:00 A.M. - 1:00 P.M.)
March 14, Saturday Second deferred payment due for Spring 2009
March 14, Saturday to
March 22, Sunday
SPRING RECESS
March 15, Sunday Priority deadline for receipt of 2009-2010 Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) - for continuing students.
March 16, Monday Deadline for receipt of approved applications for Intra-University Transfers for Fall 2009 in Enrollment Management/Records*
March 23, Monday to
April 3, Friday
GENERAL REGISTRATION (GR) for Fall 2009
March 28, Saturday Senior Comprehensive Examination in major fields for College of Arts and Sciences prospective May, Summer, and December 2009 graduates
April 1, Wednesday Deadline for receipt of advance payment from continuing students to confirm housing assignments and waiting list positions for Fall 2009
April 6, Monday LAST DAY TO WITHDRAW FROM A COURSE
April 6, Monday LAST DAY TO COMPLETE A TOTAL WITHDRAWAL FROM THE UNIVERSITY
April 6, Monday to
April 19, Sunday
GENERAL REGISTRATION (GR) for Summer 2009
April 15, Wednesday Deadline for receipt of Housing applications for continuing students for Summer 2009
April 15, Wednesday Deadline for receipt of approved applications for Intra-University Transfers for Summer 2009
April 20, Monday to
April 22, Wednesday
FINAL EXAMINATIONS FOR PROSPECTIVE GRADUATES
April 23, Thursday DEADLINE FOR INSTRUCTORS TO SUBMIT GRADES FOR PROSPECTIVE GRADUATES - 3:OO P.M.
April 23, Thursday FORMAL CLASSES END
April 23, Thursday Deadline for students to clear Fall 2008 incomplete grades with instructors
April 24, Friday to
April 26, Sunday
READING PERIOD
April 27, Monday to
April 28, Tuesday
DEPARTMENTAL EXAMINATIONS
(Deadline for instructors to submit final grades via the web is 5 calendar days after the scheduled final examination)
April 29, Wednesday to
May 6, Wednesday
FINAL EXAMINATIONS
(Deadline for instructors to submit final grades via the web is 5 calendar days after the scheduled final examination)
May 6, Wednesday SECOND SEMESTER ENDS
May 6, Wednesday Deadline for academic deans to submit Special Grade Reports to Enrollment Management/Records for removal of incomplete grades for Fall 2008
May 7, Thursday Deadline for receipt of May 2009 Graduation Recommendations in Office of the Secretary of the University - 5:00 P.M.
May 9, Saturday COMMENCEMENT
Upper Quadrangle - Main Campus, 10:00 A.M.
May 10, Sunday Residence Halls close at 5:00 P.M.

Departmental Final Examination Schedule

Courses   Date   Time
English 002 & 003   Monday, Apr 27   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
Accounting Principles 1   Monday, Apr 27   10:15 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.
French 001, 002, & 003   Monday, Apr 27   12:30 noon – 2:30 p.m.
Spanish 001, 002, & 003   Monday, Apr 27   12:30 noon – 2:30 p.m.
Social Science   Monday, Apr 27   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
General Physics   Monday, Apr 27   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Management Info. Systems   Monday, Apr 27   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Economics 001 & 002   Tuesday, Apr 28   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
Finance Principles   Tuesday, Apr 28   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
Accounting Principles   Tuesday, Apr 28   10:15 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.
Comprehensive Sciences   Tuesday, Apr 28   12:30 noon – 2:30 p.m.
Classical Mythology   Tuesday, Apr 28   12:30 noon – 2:30 p.m.
Academic Reinforcement   Tuesday, Apr 28   1:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Mathematics   Tuesday, Apr 28   4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.

Course Final Examination Schedule

Courses   Date   Time
8:10 a.m. MWF   Wednesday, Apr 29   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
8:10 a.m. TTH   Thursday, Apr 30   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
9:10 a.m. MWF   Friday, May 1   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
9:40 a.m. TTH   Monday, May 4   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
10:10 a.m. MWF   Tuesday, May 5   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
11:10 a.m. MWF   Wednesday, May 6   8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
11:10 a.m. TTH   Wednesday, May 6   11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
12:10 p.m. MWF   Wednesday, Apr 29   11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
12:40 p.m. MW   Wednesday, Apr 29   11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
12:40 p.m. TTH   Thursday, April 30   11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
1:10 p.m. MWF   Friday, May 1   11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
2:10 p.m. MWF   Monday, May 4   11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
2:10 p.m. TTH   Tuesday, May 5   11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
3:10 p.m. MWF   Monday, May 4   2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
3:40 p.m. TTH   Tuesday, May 5   2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
4:10 p.m. MWF   Wednesday, Apr 29   2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
5:10 p.m. MWF   Thursday, April 30   2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
5:10 p.m. TTH   Friday, May 1   2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
9:10 p.m. MWF   Wednesday, May 6   2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
6:10 p.m. MWF   Wednesday, April 29   5:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.
6:40 p.m. TTH   Thursday, April 30   5:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.
7:10 p.m. MWF   Friday, May 1   5:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.
8:10 p.m. MWF   Monday, May 4   5:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.
8:10 p.m. TTH   Tuesday, May 5   5:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.

NOTE: FOR THOSE CLASSES THAT MEET ONCE WEEKLY OR AT A TIME NOT SHOWN ABOVE, THE INSTRUCTOR SHOULD SCHEDULE, IN CONSULTATION WITH THE STUDENT(S) INVOLVED, THE FINAL EXAM (IF ANY). THESE INSTRUCTORS SHOULD CONTACT EM/RECORDS TO ARRANGE FOR AN EXAMINATION ROOM.

Summer School 2009

SESSION I:   SESSION II:
May 20 - June 27   June 29 - Aug 1
Registration: May 18 to 19   Registration: June 25 and 26

Session I

May 18, 2009, Monday Residence Halls open for check-in of summer residents
May 18, Monday to
May 19, Tuesday
REGISTRATION for all students
May 20, Wednesday FORMAL CLASSES BEGIN
May 20, Wednesday Deadline for 100% refund of tuition/fees
May 20, Wednesday Initial Financial Aid disbursement for Summer 2009 Session I (undergraduate and graduate students). NOTE: Student Financial Services will begin check processing in 7 to 10 days following the disbursement of Financial Aid.
May 20, Wednesday to
May 22, Friday
LATE REGISTRATION/CHANGE OF PROGRAM PERIOD
(Add or drop a course without a grade of "W," change from one section to another, change from credit to audit or audit to credit)
May 20, Wednesday to
May 22, Friday
Consortium Registration
May 25, Monday MEMORIAL DAY OBSERVED - LEGAL HOLIDAY
May 25, Monday Deadline for 50% refund of tuition/fees
May 26, Tuesday Financial Aid files closed for determination of credit hours for Summer 2009 aid disbursements
May 30, Saturday Deadline for 25% refund of tuition/fees*
June 1, Monday LAST DAY TO WITHDRAW FROM A COURSE
June 24, Wednesday FORMAL CLASSES END
June 24, Wednesday LAST DAY TO COMPLETE A TOTAL WITHDRAWAL FROM THE UNIVERSITY (for First Five-week Session)
June 25, Thursday to
June 27, Saturday
FINAL EXAMINATIONS
(Deadline for instructors to submit final grades to academic deans is 3 calendar days after the scheduled final examination)
June 27, Saturday FIRST FIVE-WEEK SUMMER SESSION ENDS
June 27, Saturday Official GRADUATION DATE for Summer 2009 degree recipients in the Colleges of Dentistry and Medicine only

Final Examination Schedule for Session I

June 25, Thursday   6:30 A.M. - 8:30 A.M.
June 25, Thursday   8:00 A.M. - 10:00 A.M.
June 26, Friday   8:00 A.M. - 10:00 A.M.
June 27, Saturday   9:00 A.M. - 11.00 A.M.
June 25, Thursday   11:00 A.M. - 1:00 P.M.
June 26, Friday   11:00 A.M. - 1:00 P.M.
June 25, Thursday   2:00 P.M. - 4:00 P.M.
June 26, Friday   2:00 P.M. - 4:00 P.M.
June 25, Thursday   6:00 P.M. - 8:00 P.M.
June 25, Thursday   6:00 P.M. - 8:00 P.M.
June 26, Friday   6:00 P.M. - 8:00 P.M.
June 26, Friday   6:00 P.M. - 8:00 P.M.

Session II

June 25, Thursday and
June 26, Friday
REGISTRATION for all students
June 29, Monday FORMAL CLASSES BEGIN
June 29, Monday Initial Financial Aid disbursement for Summer 2009 Session II (undergraduate and graduate students). NOTE: Student Financial Services will begin refund processing in 7 to 10 days following the disbursement.
June 29, Monday Deadline for 100% refund of tuition/fees
June 29, Monday to
July 1, Wednesday
LATE REGISTRATION/CHANGE OF PROGRAM PERIOD
(Add or drop a course without a grade of "W," change from one section to another, change from credit to audit or audit to credit)
June 29, Monday to
July 1, Wednesday
Consortium Registration
July 1, Wednesday Financial Aid files closed for determination of credit hours for Summer 2009 aid disbursements
July 4, Saturday Deadline for 50% refund of tuition/fees
July 3, Friday INDEPENDENCE DAY OBSERVED - LEGAL HOLIDAY
July 9, Thursday Deadline for 25% refund of tuition/fees
July 6, Monday LAST DAY TO WITHDRAW FROM A COURSE
July 29, Wednesday FORMAL CLASSES END
July 29, Wednesday LAST DAY TO COMPLETE A TOTAL WITHDRAWAL FROM THE UNIVERSITY (for Second Five-week Session)
July 30, Thursday to
August 1, Saturday
FINAL EXAMINATIONS
(Deadline for instructors to submit final grades to academic deans is 3 calendar days after the scheduled final examination)
August 1, Saturday SECOND FIVE-WEEK SUMMER SESSION ENDS

Final Examination Schedule for Session II

6:30 AM Classes

 

July 30, Thursday

 

6:30 A.M. - 8:30 A.M.

7:30 AM Classes

 

July 30, Thursday

 

8:00 A.M. - 10:00 A.M.

9:15 AM Classes

 

July 31, Friday

 

8:00 A.M. - 10:00 A.M.

9:00 AM Classes

 

August 1, Saturday

 

9:00 A.M. - 11.00 A.M.

11:00 AM Classes

 

July 30, Thursday

 

11:00 A.M. - 1:00 P.M.

1:00 PM Classes

 

July 31, Friday

 

11:00 A.M. - 1:00 P.M.

2:45 PM Classes

 

July 30, Thursday

 

2:00 P.M. - 4:00 P.M.

4:30 PM Classes

 

July 31, Friday

 

2:00 P.M. - 4:00 P.M.

5:30 PM Classes

 

July 30, Thursday

 

6:00 P.M. - 8:00 P.M.

6:15 PM Classes

 

July 30, Thursday

 

6:00 P.M. - 8:00 P.M.

7:30 PM Classes

 

July 31, Friday

 

6:00 P.M. - 8:00 P.M.

8:00 PM Classes

 

July 31, Friday

 

6:00 P.M. - 8:00 P.M.