The scholarships were awarded by Arthur Scandrett, who established the Scandrett Disabilities Scholarship Fund in 1992 at Howard.

Photo by Marvin T. Jones


Excellence at Howard

The 18th Annual Scandrett Fundraising Brunch and Scholarship Awards Ceremony was held in March. Emeka John Eni, who is pursuing a law degree; Ivy Jean Pierce, a psychology major; Leighton E. Francis, a graduate student in civil engineering; and Keri Ann Douglass, a communications major, each received $1,200 to continue their studies. The scholarships were awarded by Arthur Scandrett, who established the Scandrett Disabilities Scholarship Fund in 1992 at Howard.

Sandra D. Osborne, an instructor in the Department of Dental Hygiene at the College of Dentistry, was named the 2010-2011 Fellow for the American Dental Education Association (ADEA) Enid A. Neidle Scholar-in-Residence Program for Women. Osborne will spend three months working with the Center for Equity and Diversity, and will be involved in a range of ADEA activities. Her principal project will be to research issues facing female faculty members, such as promotion, advancement and tenure policies.

Student Nicole Baden was selected for a U.S. Department of State Critical Language Scholarship to study Chinese in China during the summer of 2010. The program was launched in 2006 to increase opportunities for U.S. students to study critical-need languages overseas, and is part of a wider U.S. government effort to dramatically expand the number of Americans studying and mastering critical-need languages.

Courtesy Photo

Student Michael Onwugbufor won a $500 award for his original research at Cleveland Clinic’s 2010 Aspiring Physicians and Research Scientists Conference. His research was titled “The Biological Significance of Saccharomyces cerevisiae Rev1 for DNA Damage Tolerance and Induced Mutagenesis.” Twenty-five undergraduate math and science students, including Onwugbufor, presented in front of peers, physicians and researchers. Charlene Drew Jarvis, Ph.D. was the keynote speaker.

Courtesy Photo
Lawrence Elliott Ball, a senior supply chain management major, won second place and $6,000 in a business plan competition at the Morehouse College Entrepreneurship Center in Atlanta.

Twenty awards from the 2010 City-wide Science Fair were presented to students from the Howard University Middle School of Mathematics and Science (MS)². The middle school is now recognized as the Junior Division school that received the most awards for the second consecutive year. Students who received awards were: Keshawn Alexander, Shaunae Hines, Maurice Holmes, Mackada Howell, Kameren Morgan, Kandice Pettaway, Kweku Sumbry, Afia Tyus, Alexis White and Kelly White. (MS)² placed in nine of the 10 categories with honorable mentions, third place, second place and, for the first time, with first place positions. The school also won 12 special awards with recommendations for internships for the summer.

Photo by Ceasar

The University celebrated the accomplishments of its student-athletes during the 23rd Annual National Student-Athlete Day on April 6. Student-Athlete Day was established by the National Consortium for Academics and Sports and co-sponsored by the NCAA, the National Federation of State High School Associations and Northeastern University’s Sport in Society.

School of Education students Nailah Jones and Shawdae Thorpe were selected for the first cohort of the Woodrow Wilson-Rockefeller Brothers Fund Aspiring Teachers of Color Fellowship. The two seniors were among 25 fellows chosen by the Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation, and will each receive a $30,000 stipend to complete a master’s degree in education.

Courtesy Photo

Quentin James, a senior political science major, was elected a member of the board of directors for the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP). As a board member, James is one of the representatives of Region VII of the NAACP, which comprises Maryland, Virginia and Washington, D.C.  He was also appointed vice chair of the NAACP Advocacy and Policy Committee, which oversees all of the policy and advocacy positions of the NAACP. 

Return to Homepage

email Follow this link to Shelton Design