Howard University Capstone

photo of Everette Joseph, Ph.D.

Howard was selected
as one of seven institutions to receive NASA's Minority University Research
and Education
Program grant.

Pictured: Everette Joseph, Ph.D.

Photo by Ron Ceasar

School of Communications Documents History
CETLA Celebrates Its Fifth Anniversary
Voices from the Hill
Excellence at Howard
University News
Howard Histoiry Quiz
Return to Homepage

Excellence at Howard

Howard was selected as one of seven institutions to receive NASA's Minority University Research and Education Program grant. The Beltsville Campus will benefit from this grant, which amounts to $1 million per year for five years for each participating institution. The goal of NASA's education program is to establish significant, multi-disciplinary scientific, engineering and commercial research centers at the host universities that contribute substantially to NASA programs. With this grant, NASA plans to increase the number of underrepresented minorities who obtain advanced degrees in science-related fields.

photo of Donald E. Wilson, M.D File photo

Donald E. Wilson, M.D., M.A.C.P., Senior Vice President for Health Sciences, is the 2008 recipient of the Abraham Flexner Award for distinguished service to medical education. This is the Association of American Medical Colleges’ most prestigious award. Dr. Wilson, who earlier this year received an honorary doctorate degree from his alma mater Tufts University, has received numerous honors over his extraordinary career. (Shown in photo)

Vasant G. Telang, Ph.D, Associate Provost, was selected for the University of Rhode Island’s 2008 Distinguished Achievement Award’s Deans List. His contributions to the field of pharmacy spans 40 years and his outstanding professional achievements, leadership contributions and community service have been recognized both nationally and internationally. Telang joined the College of Pharmacy in 1974, and now assumes responsibility for the Colleges of Pharmacy, Medicine, Dentistry, Nursing and Allied Sciences and the School of Law.

Rochelle L. Ford, Ph.D., APR, Associate Dean, Research and Academic Affairs, John H. Johnson School of Communications, is the 2008 recipient of the D. Parke Gibson Pioneer Award. This award from the Public Relations Society of America is the organization’s highest individual award presented to a professional that has contributed to the increased awareness of public relations within multicultural communities and participated in the promotion of issues that meet the unique needs of these diverse communities.

photo of George Middendorf, Ph.D. Photo by Justin K. Knight

George Middendorf, Ph.D., Department of Biology, along with a team of ecologists created a new section—Environmental Justice (EJ)—for the Ecological Society of America. Middendorf, the current interim chair for EJ, plans to collaborate and foster relationships with other organizations and groups engaged in ecological issues and major environmental projects. (Shown in photo)

The Blackburn Gallery is the recipient of the US Local Business Association (USLBA) award recognizing it as Best of Washington 2008, in the Art Galleries & Dealers category. Selections for the award-winner are determined by the marketing success of the gallery in the local community and business category. The Gallery was founded in 1980 by Roberta McLeod, director of the Armour J. Blackburn University Center & Recreation, Intramural and Club Sports and curator/director of the Gallery.

WHUR Radio photoFile photo
WHUR-WORLD—an extension of the University's WHUR-FM adult urban contemporary station—received the 2008 NAB Multicast Award, which recognizes stations utilizing HD Radio technology through innovative or groundbreaking programming on a multicast channel. In addition to personality-supported shows, programming for WHUR-WORLD includes jazz, hip-hop and worldbeat music, along with business, financial and domestic violence talk shows. (Shown in photo)

The School of Education’s Early Childhood and Elementary Education programs earned national recognition from the National Association for the Education of Young Children and the Association of Childhood Education International, respectively. National recognition of teacher preparation programs granted by Specialized Professional Associations surpasses the requirements for accreditation. Nationally recognized programs have met the highest and most rigorous evidence-based standards articulated by discipline-based professional organizations.

Faculty, alumni and students of the Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders captured a total of 10 awards at the 2008 Convention of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) in Chicago this past November. Associate Professor Kay T. Payne, Ph.D., garnered recognition for her contributions in multicultural affairs in honor of her distinguished achievement in research, education and clinical service. Payne directed 17 federal grants totaling $7 million, which have supported more than 75 students at Howard. Twice a Fulbright Fellow, she has traveled to 22 nations conducting study and research. Wilhelmina Wright-Harp, Ph.D., associate professor, and alumna Patricia Cole, Ph.D., received the National Student Speech-Language-Hearing Association’s (NSSLHA) Editors Award for their recent article, “A Mentoring Model for Success in Graduate Education.” Cole also received the highest honors of NSSLHA. Alumnae Bernadette Mayfield-Clarke, Ph.D., and Deirdre Trent, Ph.D., were inducted as fellows, one of the highest honors of ASHA. Alumnus Tommie Robinson, Ph.D., has been elected 2009 President of this 130,000-member organization. Current doctoral students Nayda Torres, Alayna Townsend and Miguelina Zapata were selected for the Minority Student Leadership Program.

Return to Homepage

© Howard University, all rights reserved. HOWARD UNIVERSITY, 2225 Georgia Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20059 - Phone: 202-238-2330 Email: