February 2012
Capstone February 2012 Howard University  
University News
Fulbright Scholar Program The Fulbright Scholar Program is offering teaching, research or combination teaching/research awards in more than 125 countries for the 2013-2014 academic year.
There are awards in 45 specific academic disciplines as well as 167 awards open to all disciplines. Interested faculty and professionals are encouraged to participate in one of their weekly webinars. Each deals with a topic germane to the 2013-2014 competition, from regional and discipline information to how to fill out an application. For more information on the webinars, visit www.cies.org/Webinar/. The application deadline for most awards is Aug. 1, 2012. U.S. citizenship is required. For other eligibility requirements and detailed award descriptions, visit www.cies.org/us_scholars/us_awards/. For additional information, contact Jeanne M. Toungara, Ph.D., at 202-806-2550 or jtoungara@howard.edu.
Arthur P. Scandrett
The Scandrett Disabilities Scholarship Fund’s 20th Annual Fundraiser & Scholarship Awards Ceremony will be held on March 24 in the Armour J. Blackburn Center Ballroom. The fund was established by alumnus Arthur P. Scandrett (pictured left) to assist “financially needy, disabled students.” The fund provides $1,200 awards for tuition, fees, textbooks, room, board and incidentals for eligible students. Students applying for a Scandrett Scholarship award must have a disability, be currently enrolled at Howard and in good academic standing. Individuals wishing to contribute to the fund or attend the fundraiser may contact Mary F. Stubbs, Ph.D., mstubbs@howard.edu or 202-806-5876. (Marvin T. Jones)

Pradeep K. Karla
Pradeep K. Karla, Ph.D., professor, College of Pharmacy, received the New Investigator’s Award from the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy to conduct research on a process to better treat people suffering from eye diseases. He is one of 18 award recipients. Participants are investigating topics as diverse as medication self-management, treatment for cocaine addiction and withdrawal and the impact of Medicare payment cuts on patients’ treatment choices and the resulting outcomes.
Denise Sawyer Denise Sawyer, a broadcast news senior, was one of 10 students nationally selected as a national Meredith-Cronkite fellow. Each year, the Meredith Corporation and its Phoenix television station, KPHO CBS 5, sponsor a weeklong multimedia fellowship for top minority broadcast journalism students at Arizona State University’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication.
Sawyer spent this year’s winter break at a local Arizona television station where she anchored the live on-air newscast and shot and edited video news segments.

The College of Dentistry The College of Dentistry hosted its 10th annual “Give Kids a Smile” last month. More than 300 children from Chamberlain Elementary School, as well as hundreds of other D.C. children, had their teeth examined and repaired by scores of dentists and dental students from Howard and the D.C. Dental Society. “Give Kids a Smile” is a nationwide program focused on providing dental care and education to all children. Since the program began, more than 9,523 dentists have treated 405,338 children nationally in 1,588 locations. Watch the latest coverage of "Give Kids a Smile Day" (Tyrone Clemmons)
Kurt L. Schmoke
Kurt L. Schmoke, J.D., dean, Howard University School of Law, was recently appointed to the position of interim deputy provost for Academic Affairs for the University. Schmoke will work closely with LaSalle Leffall, M.D., who has been appointed as interim provost and Chief Academic Officer, and Wayne Frederick, M.D., who has been appointed interim deputy provost for Health Sciences. (Ceasar)

Josephine Ross, J.D., associate professor of law supervisor at the Howard University School of Law, joined the Georgetown University Institutional Review Board as a prisoner advocate. Georgetown University and Howard University are partners in a clinical and translational science award from NIH.
Howard President Sidney A. Ribeau, Ph.D., along with Environmental Protection Agency Administrator Lisa P. Jackson, signed a new five-year memorandum of understanding between the two institutions at the EPA headquarters earlier this month. The new agreement represents a continuation of existing collaboration between Howard and the EPA. Goals of the
partnership include enhancing student and faculty participation in research and technology development and increasing student access to employment opportunities at the EPA.  (Justin D. Knight)

Robert Medine, a fair housing student at Howard University School of Law, was chosen to receive the Washington Legal Clinic for the Homeless fellowship, sponsored by the Washington, D.C. law firm Crowell and Moring. Alisha “Tuff” Hill, a former Howard basketball player, was selected for induction into the 2012 MEAC Hall of Fame. Hill led the Lady Bison to three consecutive NCAA tournament berths (1996-1998). She is the University's MEAC women’s basketball all-time leading scorer with 2,179 points. The official induction will take place on March 9, at 9 a.m., at the M.C. Benton, Jr. Convention Center in Winston-Salem, N.C.

The College of Arts and Sciences will hold its seventh Annual Undergraduate Research Symposium on April 2, in the Armour J. Blackburn Center. Students are invited to submit abstracts for oral and poster presentations by Feb. 20, at www.coas.howard.edu/research. The college invites faculty to sign up as judges and staff and graduate students to serve as moderators at www.coas.howard.edu/research.
The Graduate School will hold its 2012 Graduate School Research Symposium on April 9, from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., in the Armour J. Blackburn Center. Abstracts are due on Feb. 27 by 5 p.m. For information on abstract guidelines and abstract submissions, contact Constance Minor at 202-806-7636 or c_minor@howard.edu. For more information about the symposium, contact Constance M. Ellison, Ph.D., at 202-806-7636 or cellison@howard.edu.

David Honig, president of the Minority Media and Telecommunication Council, will speak on “Media Ownership: The History and Future for Minorities and Women” on Feb. 16 at 3 p.m., in the Gallery Lounge of the Armour J. Blackburn Center. Current issues of minority and women’s status related to broadband access, access to capital and the unsatisfactory state of public policy in media ownership will be discussed. The Office of Human Resources has a new newsletter available at http://hr.howard.edu/Documents/ohr_newsletter_212.pdf. Read the latest updates on annual leave, FMLA and mid-year performance evaluations.

APEX Winner Logo

Howard University, All rights reserved.
2225 Georgia Avenue, NW, Washington DC 20059
Judi Moore Latta, Ph.D., Executive Director, Communications and Marketing
Raven Padgett, Editor
Phone: 202-238-2330
| Contact Webmaster  |  

Give to Howard University