May 2013
Capstone April 2013 Howard University Capstone October 2013
Howard University Capstone October 2013
University News
D.C. Delegate Eleanor Holmes Norton joined Howard President Sidney A. Ribeau, Ph.D., board of trustee members, administrators and community members at the official groundbreaking ceremony for the two new residence halls and the new Interdisciplinary Research Building on April 18. The buildings are slated for completion in fall 2014.

Gracie Lawson-Borders, Ph.D., was named the new dean of the School of Communications; the appointment becomes effective July 1. Lawson-Borders has spent nearly three decades in academia, communication studies and professional journalism. She previously served as associate dean in the College of Arts and Sciences and as professor in communication and journalism at the University of Wyoming. She is also a former director of the African American and Diaspora Studies program at Wyoming, and a former journalist, who worked as a reporter and editor at the Akron Beacon Journal, The Oakland Press and The Chicago Tribune.

WHUR-FM 96.3 received the Crystal Radio Award from the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB). The award recognizes radio stations for outstanding year-round commitment to community service.

This year’s recipients were chosen from among 50 finalists. The 10 selected stations were honored at the NAB Show Radio Luncheon in Las Vegas.

For the second consecutive year, Howard University has been awarded six Fulbright fellowships. The 2013-2014 Fulbright class is Christine J. Williams (Germany), Matthew Wilcox (Peru), Brenda Duverce (Botswana), Megan Echols (Colombia), Jon Robert Brown (Bahrain) and Marva Mercedes Dixon (South Africa).
Pictured: Matthew Wilcox, Megan Echols, Brenda Duverce, Christine J. Williams are four of the six Fulbrights for 2013-2014. Not pictured: Jon Robert Brown and Marva Mercedes Dixon.

Howard University School of Law students Michelle Mills and Nnamdi Anozie were selected as finalists for the 2013 Presidential Management Fellows Program.

The highly selective leadership program, which is administered by the U.S. Office of Personnel Management, recruits outstanding, master’s-level, law and doctoral students for two-year assignments at federal agencies.

Tickets for the third annual AT&T Nation’s Football Classic® between Howard University and Morehouse College are now on sale. The Howard Bison meet the Morehouse Maroon Tigers on Sept. 7 at 3:30 p.m., at RFK Stadium. Lower bowl tickets are $20, plus applicable fees, from May 3-31 (while supplies last). After that, all lower bowl tickets are $25 and mezzanine tickets are $50, plus fees. Group sales for 50 or more begin June 1. Tickets can be purchased at the Cramton Auditorium box office and through Ticketmaster.
Check out the spring issue of the HUH Check Up, the official newsletter for Howard University Hospital. In this issue, discover ways to find relief during the allergy season and how to train for a 5K or a marathon.

Recent alumnus Harrison Lamar Hayes received the Reginald F. Lewis Prize. The $2,500 prize is awarded to the undergraduate student whose cumulative grade point average demonstrates the highest increase between his or her sophomore and senior years.

Be sure to vote for Miss Howard University, Tamekia-terin Taylor, as your favorite HBCU campus queen. There are no limits on the number of times you can vote.

Online voting ends on May 29. To vote, visit The 10 queens with the most votes will be featured in an upcoming issue.

Sudha Sharma, Ph.D., an associate professor in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology in the College of Medicine, recently published new findings that make a significant contribution to the understanding of genomic instability, including those found in cancer.  Her research could place scientists on a path to design more effective cancer treatment strategies.

New research by Sharma and her laboratory associates published in Molecular Cancer shows how RECQ1, a protein that is present in human cells, is recruited to hotspots of DNA damage that are particularly sensitive to DNA breaks in cancer cells.
Three Howard University broadcast journalism students were presented with $7,000 White House Correspondents’ Association (WHCA) scholarships by President Barack Obama and first lady Michelle Obama. The Obamas made the WHCA award presentations during the 99th Annual White House Correspondents’ Dinner held on April 27, 2013.

The scholarship award winners from Howard are Karissa Braxton, a junior from Seattle; Charmaine Crutchfield, a junior from Ruther Glen, Va.; and Jobina Fortson, a junior from Atlanta.
This is the seventh year that Howard journalism students have received the prestigious WHCA scholarships.
APEX Winner Logo

Howard University, All rights reserved.
2225 Georgia Avenue, NW, Washington DC 20059
Kerry-Ann Hamilton, Ph.D., Interim Executive Director, Communications and Marketing
Raven Padgett, Editor
Phone: 202-238-2330
| Contact Webmaster  |  

Give to Howard University