WHUT-TV was awarded a $5,000 grant from the Verizon Foundation for its work in early childhood literacy.

Pictured: (L-R) Pamela D. Leftrict Esq., director for State Public Policy, Verizon; Karen I Campbell, VP & chief policy officer, Verizon; Jennifer Lawson, GM for WHUT-TV; and Shelley Norfleet, education coordinator.

Photo by Kerry Ann-Hamilton


Excellence at Howard

WHUT-TV was awarded a $5,000 grant from the Verizon Foundation for its work in early childhood literacy in the communities of Anacostia and Columbia Heights. The grant will help WHUT fund activities aimed at supporting early childhood literacy. The station will hold a daylong literacy activity in April 2010 for approximately 100 children, ages 4-8, as well as two weeklong literacy camps in June 2010 that will benefit 40 children and their families.

File Photo

Donald E. Wilson, M.D., senior vice president for Health Sciences, was recently awarded the 2009 Eagle Fly Free Award by the Institute for the Advancement of Multicultural and Minority Medicine, an organization focused on the elimination of health disparities among underrepresented and underserved multicultural communities. The award recognizes those who have made extraordinary sacrifices and contributions to humankind by sharing their personal success stories in overcoming debilitating illnesses. A nationally recognized leader in medical education, research and health policy for more than 30 years, Wilson recently underwent his second kidney transplant.

Photo by Ceasar
Leslie T. Fenwick, Ph.D., dean of the School of Education, was appointed to the National Advisory Council for the George Lucas Education Foundation. Movie producer George Lucas established the organization to support innovation in PK-12 schools. “The foundation’s vision of creating a new world of learning for the nation’s students is compelling and fascinating,” said Fenwick. “This is an opportunity for the Howard University School of Education to contribute to the national conversation about innovation in teaching and learning.”

Kay T. Payne, Ph.D., associate professor, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders, John H. Johnson School of Communications, Joan C. Payne, Ph.D., professor, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders, John H. Johnson School of Communications and Orlando Taylor, Ph.D., former dean of the Graduate School, were selected as Diversity Champions by the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (AHSA). They were recognized for their contributions in the area of multiculturalism at the 40th anniversary celebration of the ASHA Multicultural Concerns Collective in New Orleans.

Courtesy Photo

The National Association of Colored Women’s Club Inc., honored Richard English, Ph.D., professor emeritus, during its Third Annual People of Achievement Award Gala.

Tonya Guillory, dean of Student Life and Activities, was recently appointed as the NASPA-Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education, Region II Representative for the Student Affairs Development and External Knowledge Community. NASPA is the leading voice for student affairs administration, policy and practice.

Courtesy Photo
The Washington, D.C., Small Business Development Center (SBDC) at Howard selected Jessica Horsley as the 2009 State Star. Horsley was selected for being an exemplary performer, making a significant contribution to the District of Columbia SBDC program and showing a strong commitment to small businesses in the District of Columbia.

Howard’s Mock Trial Team placed second at the Harvard University’s Crimson Classic Invitational. The team competed against such schools as Cornell University and Wellesley College.

The women’s soccer team was awarded postseason honors by the Great West conference. Freshman Retha Koefoed was selected as the Great West Offensive of the Year in the eastern division, while first-year coach Brent Leiba was named Great West Coach of the Year. Additionally, sophomore goalkeeper Chanel Bell received the at-large award in the east, an honor for the next highest vote getter. The team received honors at other positions as well. Freshman Brittany Peebles was named all-conference on defense, while classmate Cynthia Snyder received all-conference honors at forward. Koefoed was an all-conference selection at midfield in addition to being named Offensive of the Year.

Return to Homepage

email Follow this link to Shelton Design