Barbara Hines

Professor Barbara Hines was named the David Adams Journalism Educator of the Year.

Photo by Ceasar


Excellence at Howard

Barbara Hines, Ph.D., professor and director of graduate studies in Mass Communication and Media Studies, was named the David Adams Journalism Educator of the Year by the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication. Hines was recognized for her long-time teaching and mentoring, specifically with student journalists. The former chair of the Department of Journalism, Hines coordinates the internship program for undergraduates.

The School of Education was selected by the Woodrow Wilson Foundation (WWF) as one of 27 schools/colleges of education having a high-quality, distinctive teacher preparation program. WWF said that the designated colleges/universities have “developed bold, innovative approaches that can prepare teachers for a time in which the nation's K-12 schools are undergoing dramatic change.”

The College of Medicine is third among America’s 141 medical schools in producing doctors that meet the nation’s new health care needs, according to a study by George Washington University. The study in the June 15 edition of the Annals of Medicine is the first ever to score all U.S. medical schools on their ability to meet a social mission.

Robert E. Efimba, Ph.D., associate professor of civil engineering, was named the 2010 Tau Beta Pi National Outstanding Advisor. He was cited for his dedication to the enhancement of the association, his personality and commitment to inspiring excellence and an ability to steer students toward success.

Kurt L. SchmokePhoto by Ceasar

Kurt L. Schmoke, dean of the School of Law, was elected chairman of the board of trustees of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI). Dean Schmoke was first elected as an HHMI trustee in 2005.


Harry G. Robinson IIICourtesy Photo

Harry G. Robinson III, professor, School of Architecture and Design, participated in the White House Summit on Federal Leadership on Clean Energy and Sustainable Building in July. The summit explored the way federal agencies can lead by example in creating a clean energy economy. Following the summit, Robinson participated in the National Research Council (NRC) two-day workshop on federal high-performance green facilities. Robinson is a member of the NRC committee on “High-Performance Green Federal Buildings: Strategies and Approaches for Meeting Federal Objectives.”  

The Department of Architecture student team won the U.S. Green Building Council 2010 Natural Talent Competition in its regional round. The team won with their design, “Synergy Home, Community Environment,” and now advances to the national level of the competition, where it will go against other chapter winners. Housing designs that win at the national competition will be built in New Orleans’ Broadmoor neighborhood, which is rebuilding following Hurricane Katrina. The students’ volunteer advisor team, led by Nubras Samayeen, LEED professional architect, included professor Barbara Laurie, professor Angel Clarens and chair of the department, professor Edward Dunson.

Leroy K. James, the University’s police chief, was elected Region 1 vice president for the HBCU-Law Enforcement Executives Association. In his new post, he will serve as a liaison between the executive board of directors of the organization and HBCU police departments in D.C., Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia, Delaware, Pennsylvania and Ohio, to assist them with implementing contemporary “best practices” in the field of university policing.  

Leslie T. Fenwick, Ph.D.Photo by Ceasar

Leslie T. Fenwick, Ph.D., dean of the School of Education, was appointed to the Education and Public Outreach Committee of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA). The nine-member committee serves as the senior external advisory body to which the NASA administrator turns for assistance in addressing important program and policy matters related to the U.S. civil space program. Fenwick will serve a two-year term.

Corey C. BriscoeCourtesy Photo

Undergraduate Trustee Corey C. Briscoe was appointed chairman and chief executive officer of the Agape Coalition Inc, which raises awareness of the pivotal role of food in health and wellness and supporting initiatives that aim to improve nutrition around the world.

Sophomore David Alexander, a business administration major, came in first place at the Executive Leadership Council and the Executive Leadership Foundation 2010 Award for Excellence in Business Commentary National Essay Competition. Students were asked to examine and discuss how corporations should work with schools to help develop minority leaders.

Fall 2009 cover of the Howard MagazineFile Photo
HUH Checkup newsletterFile Photo
The fall 2009 issue of the Howard Magazine and the summer 2009 issue of the HUH Check Up newsletter received APEX Awards for Publication Excellence in the 22nd annual competition. The Howard Magazine received an award for “Magazine and Journal Design and Layout” and the Check Up received an award for “Print Newsletters” (Editor, Raven Padgett and Publications Specialist, LaShandra Gary). There were nearly 4,000 entries submitted from across the country.

Return to Homepage

Email: Follow this link to Shelton Design