October 2011
Excellence at Howard

Leo E. Rouse

Leo E. Rouse, D.D.S., dean of the College of Dentistry, received the Sterling V. Mead Award from the D.C. Dental Society for distinguished contributions to society, the dental profession and research.

Rouse is the president of the American Dental Education Association, the voice of dental education in the U.S. and Canada. As the first African American to hold the position, he will guide the association over his yearlong term.

Lisa K. Fitzpatrick, M.D., professor, College of Medicine, received the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Medicine’s E. Grey Dimond’s Take Wing Award.

This honor, given to 22 other graduates in the school’s history, acknowledges alumni who demonstrate excellence in his or her chosen field.

Theodore R. Life Jr., assistant professor, Department of Radio, Television and Film, School of Communications, received the Best Film/Video Documentary Production Award at the 26th Black International Cinema Berlin Festival for his documentary, Reason to Hope.

The film chronicles the experience of two network correspondents who remained in Haiti for more than a month after the January 2010 earthquake.

Kurt L. Schmoke, dean of the Howard University School of Law, was named co-chair of the new Civic Engagement and Governance Institute at the Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies, one of the nation's premier think tanks on public policy issues that concern communities of color. Schmoke will advise on the strategic direction of the institute, which will work to enhance the

center’s role in promoting broader citizen engagement and political participation. The institute will also increase awareness of how economic and social issues affect communities of color and explore new avenues for increasing and enhancing the effectiveness of political participation in these communities. (Ceasar)

Ahmed Rubaai, Ph.D., professor of electrical engineering, received the 2011 American Society for Engineering Education’s Robert G. Quinn Award. Rubaai founded the University’s Motion Control and Drives Laboratory, which enables students to perform hands-on experiments and research in engineering.

He also developed educational software packages that are now used as a standard in power transformer practice-design software among educators and students, and influenced the development of the commercial educational software now used for this purpose. This innovation earned Rubaai international recognition, and his design is now recognized as a model.

Barron H. Harvey, Ph.D., dean of the School of Business, received the Milton Wilson Dean’s Award at the ninth annual National HBCU Business Deans’ Summit.

The award is presented to a past or present business school dean in recognition of leadership, service and commitment to the academic profession.

Howard students Ronya Foy and Aamira Chaney received David L. Boren, Fellowships to study language and culture in Africa. Foy, a doctoral student in the School of Social Work, will study Swahili at the State University of Zanzibar.

Chaney, a doctoral student in the Department of African Studies, will study Zulu at the University of Zululand at Ngoye in South Africa. Both students will begin studies this fall.

The awards are part of the African Languages Initiative, a pilot program designed to increase the number of Boren scholars, fellows and alumni engaged in the study of critical languages of Africa. (Justin D. Knight)

Three broadcast journalism students (Noelle Jones, Camille Grayson and Seth Lemon) each received $7,000 scholarships from the White House Correspondents Association.

This is the fourth year that Howard’s journalism students have received the scholarships, which are awarded on the basis of academic achievement and exemplary work as student journalists.

WHUR-FM was named Urban Station of the Year at the 2011 National Association of Broadcasters’ Marconi Radio Awards.

The awards recognize outstanding radio personalities and stations in more than 20 categories. Finalists were selected by a task force of broadcasters, and the winners were voted on by the NAB Marconi Radio Awards Selection Academy. (Justin D. Knight)

The Department of Community and Family Medicine received the 2011 Excellence in Prevention through Electronic Health Record Technology Award by the Delmarva Foundation of the District of Columbia.

The department was one of three ambulatory practices in the District to receive the 2011 award. Babafemi Adenuga, M.D., interim chair, accepted the award on behalf of the department.

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services recognized the 15th anniversary of National Minority Donor Awareness Day and honored Clive Callender, M.D., professor of surgery, College of Medicine, who established Aug. 1 as the date to annually focus the nation’s attention on minority donors

and minority transplant recipients. The video and a tribute to the anniversary of National Minority Donor Awareness Day can be seen at www.organdonor.gov. (Ceasar)

Broadcast journalism senior Saraya Wintersmith, won first place in a public service announcement competition sponsored by the National Association of Broadcasters Education Foundation and the Broadcast Education Association.The competition sought the best 30-second spot to creatively address the theme, “What freedom of speech means to me,” and Wintersmith won in the radio category.

Her PSA will be distributed to radio stations across the country for broadcast during National Freedom of Speech Week, Oct. 17 – 23.

Anita Sane, a political science doctoral student, won an essay competition sponsored by the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa, the Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa and the Johns Hopkins University School of Advanced International Studies. She presented her essay at a conference in June in Dakar, Senegal.

Howard University, All rights reserved.
2225 Georgia Avenue,
NW, Washington DC 20059
Raven Padgett, Editor; LaShandra Gary, Publications Specialist
Phone: 202-238-2330
| Contact Webmaster  |