School of Architecture and Design
Visit inside and learn more about us.
Degree Programs  

Howard University offers the following NAAB-accredited degree:

Bachelor of Architecture - professional degree program that requires five years of study and is fully accredited by the National Architecture Accreditation Board. The degree meets the educational requirements for professional registration. The professional Bachelor of Architecture was last visited in March 2012 and was re-accredited for the full six year term. The next accredidation review visit for the architecture program: 2018.

The School is a member of the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architectue.

Lists of all Architecture course descriptions are available on separate pages.

Academic policies on Admissions, Design Studio Requirements and Graduation Requirements can be seen <here>.
The Next Accreditation Review Visit for the Architecture Program: 2018  

The primary aim is to stress the importance of design as a method of inquiry and resolution. Students are taught to solve architectural problems through the exploration of original and promising architectural expressions and ideas.

The Department believes that architecture and design is essentially a rigorous act of creativity, research and scholarship and encourages a pluralistic intellectual environment in which diverse ideas can be investigated and tested.

The studio provides an ongoing forum for discourse at all levels of the curriculum. The studio focuses curriculum activities including issues of social and human behavior and concern, response to the physical environment, ethical responsibility for ecologically sustainable design and the cultural context in which architecture is developed.

Exhibition spaces for the 2012 National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) Team Visit.
Statement of the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)

"In the United States, most state registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure.  The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit U.S. professional degree programs in architecture, recognizes two types of degrees:  the Bachelor of Architecture and the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture.  A program may be granted a 6-year, 3-year, or 2-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.

Master's degree programs may consist of a preprofessional undergraduate degree and a professional graduate degree that, when earned sequentially, constitute an accredited professional education.  However, the pre-professional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.”

NAAB and Procedures

  • The 2010 NAAB Procedures for Accreditation can be found here 
  • The 2009 NAAB Conditions for Accreditation here 

Annual Report and Letters

  • Download 2012 Visiting Team Report here
  • Download 2011 Architecture Program Report here
  • Download 2006 Visiting Team Report here
  • Download 2007 Focused Team Report here
  • Download 2005 Architecture Program Report here
  • Download NCARB ARE Pass Rates here 

Collateral Organizations

  • American Collegiate Schools of Architecture - ACSA
  • American Institute of Architects - AIA
  • American Institute of Architecture Students - AIAS 
  • National Council of Architectural Registration Boards - NCARB
  • National Organization of Minority Architects - NOMA





School of Architecture and Design - Department of Architecture
College of Engineering, Architecture and Computer Sciences
Howard University, 2366 Sixth Street, NW, Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-7424 - Fax: (202) 462-2158 -

Main | Architecture | Chemical | Civil | Electrical & Computer Engineering | Mechanical Engineering | Systems & Computer Science
Copyright © Howard University. All Rights Reserved. Terms of use and disclaimer.