Faculty

  

Sonya T. Smith, Ph.D., Professor and Chair
Department of Mechanical Engineering
2300 Sixth Street, NW , Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-6600; Fax: (202) 483-1396; e-mail: ssmith@howard.edu

Name & Rank

Specialty

Contacts (202)

Peter M. Bainum, Ph.D., P.E.
Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Aerospace Engineering

Structural/control optimization of large structures; formation flying of orbiting satellites.

806-6612
pbainum@howard.edu

Emmanuel K. Glakpe, Ph.D., P.E.
Professor

Heat transfer, energy systems, nuclear engineering, computational fluid dynamics.

806-7741
eglakpe@howard.edu

James Hammonds, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Heat transfer, alternative energy systems.

865-8699
j_hammonds@howard.edu

Oliver G. McGee, Ph.D.
Professor

Vibration control of mechanical systems, aeromechanics

ogmcgee@howard.edu

Mohsen Mosleh, Ph.D.
Professor

Design methodology, manufacturing processes, surface engineering and tribology.

806-6622
mmosleh@howard.edu

Gbadebo Owolabi Ph.D.
George David/United Technologies Corporation Assistant Professor

Fatigue and Fracture Mechancics, High Strain Rate Testing and Materials Characterization and Structural Health Integrity.

806-6594
gbadebo.owolabi@howard.edu

Robert Reiss, Ph.D.
Professor

Optimal structural design, variational and extremum principles, biomechanics.

806-6608
rreiss@howard.edu

Sonya T. Smith, Ph.D.
Professor & Chair

Computational fluid dynamics (CFD), computational neuroscience, auditory mechanics.

806-4837
ssmith@howard.edu

Lewis Thigpen, Ph.D., P.E.
Professor Emeritus

Wave propagation, porous media, penetration mechanics, continuum mechanics. 

806-6594
lthigpen@howard.edu

Naren Vira, Ph.D.
Professor

Robotics, CAD/CAM, manufacturing engineering, symbolic computation, optimal design.

806-6611
nvira@howard.edu

M. Lucius Walker, Jr., Ph.D., P.E.
Professor Emeritus

Engineering economics, and applications of computers and computer networks.

806-6600
mwalkerjr@aol.com

G. M. Warner, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Finite element analysis of the human knee joint; energy harvesting of rotating structures; fluid-structure interaction; vibration and stability in rotating structures; structural optimization. 806-6607 g_warner@howard.edu

H. A. Whitworth, D.Sc.
Professor

Composite materials, fatigue and failure analysis.

806-6600
hwhitworth@howard.edu

Copyright © Howard University. All Rights Reserved. Terms of use and disclaimer.