2008 Northeast Junior Solar Car Sprint Championship

On May 29th 2008, eight students from 6th, 7th and 8th grade combined took part in the DC Metropolitan Junior Solar Sprint Competition. The competition took place at the Freedom Plaza on 13th and Pennsylvania Ave Washington DC from 12:00pm. At the end of the day, the 6th graders got 1st place for Technical Design and the 7th graders placed 2nd overall in the competition. What an exciting day!! This was our first experience in this competition and we not only placed twice out of 50 cars. We won two medals.

As a result, we were invited to participate in the 2008 Northeast Regional Junior Solar Sprint Championship in Springfield, Massachusetts on Sunday, June 8th sponsored by the Northeast Sustainable Energy Association (NESEA). They were in 4th place.

These are the students that competed:

6th graders
Technical Design Winners: Michael Seward and Theophilus Washington

7th graders
Overall 2nd place winners in the competition: Antar Evans, Isis Roberts, and DeAundre Dominique

8th graders
Nia Christian, Brandon DePass, and Mira Antwine



<back to News & Events