Search H.U News Room: (Type keyword)  
| |
Howard University > News Room

Stacie Royster                                                                     
Media Relations Manager

Kerry-Ann Hamilton
Communication Specialist

Washington, D.C., (April 10, 2006) – Tom Brokaw, former anchor of NBC Nightly News, will deliver the keynote address at the Howard University John H. Johnson School of Communications 35th Anniversary Gala Dinner on, Thursday, April 20 at the J.W.Marriott, 1331 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., 6:30 p.m.

Other distinguished guests include entertainment executive Suzanne de Passe who is the honorary chair of the event and honoree, Cathy Hughes, founder and chairperson of Radio One which operates 69 radio stations and TV One cable/satellite television network. Hughes is this year’s recipient of the “Messenger Award” for excellence in communications. Previous recipients of this award include basketball great and entrepreneur Earvin “Magic” Johnson and Bob Johnson, founder of BET.

 “We are extremely excited about our 35th anniversary event,” said Dean Jannette Dates, of the John H. Johnson School.  “It is a chance to celebrate the school and what it stands for; to support our outstanding students, faculty and staff and alumni; and to salute the achievements of the newsmakers who inspire us by their accomplishments.”

The anniversary gala dinner will benefit the construction of a new, state-of the-art telecommunications complex that will be the new home of the John H. Johnson School of Communications. The lead sponsors of the event are Dr. Emma Jean Thompson, on behalf of Integrity Church International-Somebody’s Boy, Somebody’s Girl and Johnson Publishing Company.

The Howard University John H. Johnson School of Communications has produced several outstanding professionals in journalism and radio, television, and film including: Fredricka Whitfield, CNN news anchor; Vicki Mabrey of ABC Nightline (formerly of CBS 60 Minutes II); Isabel Wilkerson, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist at The New York Times; and Jeff Burns Jr., associate publisher of EBONY

Since its inception 35 years ago, the John H. Johnson School of Communications has been one of the fastest growing schools among Howard University’s 12 academic schools and colleges.  The School offers undergraduate, masters and doctoral degrees in four departments: Communications and Culture; Communication Sciences and Disorders; Radio, Television and Film; and Journalism.

Howard University is one of 48 U.S. private, Doctoral/Research-Extensive universities and comprises 12 schools and colleges. Founded in 1867, students pursue studies in more than 120 areas leading to undergraduate, graduate and professional degrees. Since 1998, the University has produced two Rhodes Scholars, a Truman Scholar, seven Fulbright Scholars and nine Pickering Fellows. Howard also produces more on-campus African-American Ph.D.s than any other university in the world. For more information on Howard University, call 202-238-2330, or visit the University’s Web site at




© Howard University Office of University Communications,
2225 Georgia Ave. NW,
Suite 603, Washington, D.C. 20059
Webmaster / Contacts
- WWW Disclaimer
Follow Howard U. on  :
Facebook Twitter Blog