Search H.U News Room: (Type keyword)  
| |
Howard University > News Room

Office of the Dean
CONTACT: Fendy Mesy
Special Projects Coordinator
(202) 806 – 4037

Howard University Makes History at the 2009 NABJ Convention

WASHINGTON, Aug. 13, 2009—Howard University made history as the first institution awarded by the National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) both the Journalism Educator of the Year and the Student Journalist of the Year awards. Howard University’s John H. Johnson School of Communications’ (JHJSOC) Journalism professor Dr. Lawrence Kaggwa and student Jamisha Purdy were honored at the NABJ spring Board Meeting and were commended at the organization’s Hall of Fame Induction and Banquet on August 7, in Tampa.

“Howard University’s role in journalism education has always been outstanding, and we praise these individuals for their dedication to the profession,” said NABJ President Barbara Ciara. “As the media landscape evolves, it takes innovative people like Dr. Kaggwa and Jamisha who have an eye toward the horizon to embrace such change.”

With over 30 years of journalism pedagogy under his belt, Kaggwa is an indispensable tool to the JHJSOC. His dedication to the profession and passion for others is evident through the long history of his students’ success. Kaggwa’s students have landed leadership positions with some of the nation’s top newspapers, radio and television companies.

“Kaggwa puts the J in Journalism at Howard University,” said NABJ Region II Director Charles Robinson. “He has legions of young journalists and seasoned veterans alike, who he has guided and it is a distinct honor that is well deserved.”

Recognized as one of the most thriving student-journalists at Howard, Jamisha Purdy’s exceptional writing and reporting has led her to write regularly for Howard’s District Chronicles, Howard’s,’s metro section and The Falcon Times.

NABJ President Barabara Ciara stated “Jamisha demonstrates a level of sophistication and maturity as a reporter that is far beyond her age.”

Not only did Kaggwa and Purdy win the most prestigious NABJ awards, but other Howard students and a faculty member were also recognized. Award recipients and their winning pieces included: Imani Cheers, “Audacity of Hip Hop;” Steven Gray, “Campaign 2008;” Natalie Moore and Julia McEvoy, “Mixed Income;” Yanick Rice Lamb (faculty member), “Foreclosure Series” and “15th Anniversary Cover Model Package;” and Bryan Moore, “Anatomy of a Moment: Afraid to Hope.”

About NABJ Convention

The NABJ Annual Convention and Career Fair is the premier event among black media professionals - attracting more than 3,000 attendees each year. This year, the focus is on the personal and professional reinvention required for career success in an industry facing great change. The 2009 convention program committee plans a convention experience based on enhancing existing talent, cultivating new skills and providing access to top media executives and corporations.

Howard University is a private, research university that is comprised of 12 schools and colleges. Founded in 1867, students pursue studies in more than 120 areas leading to undergraduate, graduate and professional degrees. Since 1998, the University has produced two Rhodes Scholars, a Truman Scholar, a Marshall Scholar, 19 Fulbright Scholars and 11 Pickering Fellows. Howard also produces more on campus African-American Ph.D. recipients than any other university in the United States. For more information on Howard University, call 202-238-2330, or visit the University’s Web site at

© Howard University Office of University Communications,
2225 Georgia Ave. NW,
Suite 603, Washington, D.C. 20059
Webmaster / Contacts
- WWW Disclaimer
Follow Howard U. on  :
Facebook Twitter Blog