Search H.U News Room: (Type keyword)  
| |
Howard University > News Room

Office of University Communications


Kerry-Ann Hamilton
Media Relations Manager

EPA Names Former Dean of Howard University as Chair of National Advisory Council for Environmental Policy and Technology

James H. Johnson, Ph.D., reviews a student's architectural design while serving as Dean of the College of Engineering, Architecture, and Computer Sciences at Howard University.

WASHINGTON (February 25, 2010) – James H. Johnson, Ph.D., professor emeritus of Civil Engineering and former dean of the College of Engineering, Architecture, and Computer Sciences at Howard University has been appointed as the chair of the National Advisory Council for Environmental Policy and Technology (NACEPT) by U. S. Environmental Protection Agency Administrator Lisa P. Jackson.

In this new position, Johnson is the first African American to serve as chair of the independent committee that advises the agency on a broad range of environmental policy, technology, and management issues.

“This is a great honor for our College, University and the global environmental community,” said Bradford C. Grant, AIA, interim dean of College of Engineering, Architecture, and Computer Sciences. “We in CEACS have a focus on sustainability and Dr. Johnson's appointment reinforces our commitment to exploring sound environmental principles. He also represents synergy of civic and environmental leadership from someone with the technical background needed for appropriate change.”

Johnson previously served at Howard as chair of the Department of Civil Engineering and interim associate vice president for Research. His research interests include the treatment and disposal of hazardous substances, the evaluation of minority environmental policy issues and the development of environmental curricula and strategies to increase the pool of underrepresented groups in the science, technology, engineering, and math disciplines.

From 1996-2002, he oversaw the activities of the Engineering Coalition of Schools for Excellence and Leadership in Education, a National Science Foundation-funded consortium. From 1989-2002, he was the associate director of the EPA-sponsored Great Lakes and Mid-Atlantic Center for Hazardous Substance Research. Previous service to EPA includes six years on both the Science Advisory Board and the Board of Scientific Counselors, where he served as chair for two years.

The College of Engineering, Architecture and Computer Sciences (CEACS) is one of Howard University's 12 schools and colleges. CEACS is composed of the School of Engineering and Computer Sciences and the School of Architecture and Design. The CEACS is home to six academic departments offering accredited undergraduate, graduate and professional programs.

About EPA
The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) established the National Advisory Council for Environmental Policy and Technology (NACEPT) in 1988 to provide independent advice to the EPA Administrator. Council members include senior leaders and experts who represent academia, business and industry, community and environmental advocacy groups, environmental justice organizations, professional organizations, and state, local, and tribal governments.

EPA Administrator Names Dr. James H. Johnson, Jr. as Chair of Policy Advisory Group

© Howard University Office of University Communications,
2225 Georgia Ave. NW,
Suite 603, Washington, D.C. 20059
Webmaster / Contacts
- WWW Disclaimer
Follow Howard U. on  :
Facebook Twitter Blog