Type keyword:  
| |
Howard University > News Room
Press Release
Howard University Logo

School of Communications Dean, Dr. Jannette L. Dates, Selected for Induction into the Minority Media & Telecom Council’s Hall of Fame

WASHINGTON (July 15, 2011)  – The Minority Media & Telecom Council (MMTC) will induct Jannette L. Dates, the Dean of the School of Communications at Howard University, into the MMTC Hall of Fame on July 21 for her continued service campaigning for diversity in the media.

Dates will join the ranks of past honorees, including Cathy Hughes, Marc Morial, John Conyers, Percy E. Sutton and Angela Benton. The induction will be held during the organization’s 25th Anniversary Access to Capital and Telecommunications Policy Conference on Thursday, July 21at the Westin Georgetown Hotel. 

The Access to Capital Conferences have attracted dignitaries from the White House, Congress and the Department of Commerce, as well as CEOs and senior vice presidents from major media and telecommunications firms. The 2011 conference marks the 25th year of MMTC’s work as America’s leading advocate for closing the digital divide and promoting diversity and inclusion in the communications field.

“As an advisor and friend of MMTC since the beginning and as a campaigner for diversity throughout her career, Dates was chosen to be inducted into the MMTC’s Hall of Fame,” said David Honig, president and executive director of MMTC. 

Dates co-edited the book, Split Image: African Americans in the Mass Media. She has written chapters for other books, authored numerous peer-reviewed and general-interest publication articles and has been a frequent speaker and panelist on national television and radio programs.  Dates has received numerous awards including the Ebony Award for Women in Marketing and Communication and the Woman of the Year Award from the National Coalition of 100 Black Women. Dates has served as president, vice president and chair of numerous organizations, such as the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC) and the Broadcast Education Association (BEA), Black College Communication Association (BCCA), Baltimore Cable Access Corporation and the Accrediting Council of Education in Journalism and Mass Communications.

About The School of Communications
The Howard University School of Communications has produced many outstanding professionals in communications including: Michelle Miller, correspondent, CBS News; Keisha N. Brown, senior vice president & general manager, LAGRANT Foundation; Shirley M. Carswell, Deputy Managing Editor for The Washington Post; Depelsha McGruder-Thomas, senior vice president, Business Operations & Strategy, MTV Networks; Genelle Niblack, vice president, Clear Channel Radio Sales; Constance Cannon Frazier, Chief Operating Officer, American Advertising Federation (AAF); Fredricka Whitfield, CNN news anchor; Isabel Wilkerson, Pulitzer Prize winning journalist formerly at The New York Times; and Lesli Foster, news anchor at WUSA, Channel 9. For more information on the SOC, call 202-806-7690, or visit the website at

About Howard University
Howard University is a private, research university that is comprised of 12 schools and colleges. Founded in 1867, students pursue studies in more than 120 areas leading to undergraduate, graduate and professional degrees. Since 1998, the University has produced two Rhodes Scholars, two Truman Scholar, a Marshall Scholar, 19 Fulbright Scholars and 10 Pickering Fellows. Howard also produces more on campus African-American Ph.D. recipients than any other university in the United States. For more information on Howard University, call 202-238-2330, or visit the University’s Web site at 

free html visitor counters
 Howard University Office of University Communications,
2225 Georgia Ave. NW,
Suite 603, Washington, D.C. 20059
Webmaster / Contacts
- WWW Disclaimer
Follow Howard U.on :
Facebook Twitter Blog