Type keyword:  
| |
Press Release  
Release Date: Friday, February 15, 2013 4:32 PM
Howard University Logo
Media Contact:
Sholnn Freeman
Communications Specialist

Howard University Celebrates 146th Anniversary
Alumni Honorees Include Renowned Lawyer, Scientists and Educators


WASHINGTON (February 13, 2013) – Four distinguished alumni, including a prominent Washington lawyer and leading educators and scientists in the fields of biology, psychology and ophthalmology will be honored for their accomplishments during Howard University’s annual Charter Day Convocation on Friday, March 8 at 11 a.m. in Cramton Auditorium.

The 2013 Howard University Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award recipients are psychologist Leslie H. Hicks, attorney A. Scott Bolden, cell biologist Winston A. Anderson, and ophthalmologist Janine Austin Clayton. Frank Savage, author and business executive, will serve as the orator at convocation.  

The distinguished alumni will be honored at the Charter Day Convocation and will receive the alumni achievement award at the 89th Gala Dinner Saturday, March 9 at the Washington Hilton, 1919 Connecticut Ave., NW.  The gala will feature a performance by Anika Noni Rose, Tony Award-winning actress and singer known for her roles in the Broadway production of Caroline, or Change and the film Dreamgirls.

For more information about the gala and to register, visit

Proceeds from the dinner will support the Bridging the Gap Student Aid Campaign and its efforts to address gaps in financial aid for Howard students. For more information and to register, visit

This year’s celebration marks the 146th anniversary of the charter enacted by Congress, and subsequently approved by President Andrew Johnson on March 2, 1867, which established Howard University.

About the keynote speaker and honorees:

Frank Savage Frank Savage (B.A. '62), author of the memoir The Savage Way: Successfully Navigating the Waves of Business and Life, is chief executive officer of Savage Holdings LLC, a global financial services company. Savage has had a long career in international banking, corporate finance, and global investment management. He has served on the boards of several corporations and non-profit organizations, including Qualcomm, Lockheed Martin, Bloomberg, and the New York Philharmonic. From 1997 to 2004, Savage served as chairman of the Howard University Board of Trustees is also the recipient of an Honorary Doctorate of Humanities from Howard University.
Winston A. Anderson Winston A. Anderson (B.S. ’62, M.S. ’63) is being honored for his work in the fields of research and biomedicine. Anderson was one of nine individuals awarded the Presidential Award for excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring by President Obama in 2011. Anderson was the first minority scientist elected to the council of the prestigious American Society for Cell Biology and the founder of the Minority Affairs Committee at the organization. In 2007, Anderson was named among the 20 best scientists in academia by the Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI).
Janine Austin Clayton Janine Austin Clayton, MD (M.D. ’89) is being honored for her work in the field of women’s health. Clayton is the director of the Office of Research on Women’s Health and associate director for research on women’s health in the Office of the Director at the National Institute of Health in Bethesda, Md. She is a board certified ophthalmologist whose research interests include autoimmune ocular diseases and the role of sex and gender in health and disease. Clayton discovered a novel form of disease associated with premature ovarian insufficiency, which affects young women.
A. Scott Bolden A. Scott Bolden (J.D. ’87) is being honored for his work in the field of law. Bolden serves as the managing partner of Reed Smith’s Washington, D.C. office. His practice focuses on complex criminal and civil/regulatory defense litigation. Scott has defended individual and corporate clients in state and federal trials. He was recognized by the Washington Business Journal as the 2009 Top Lawyer in White Collar Crime and was named a “super lawyer” and “go-to lawyer” for individuals and corporations with legal issues involving federal and local governments.
Leslie H. Hicks Leslie H. Hicks, Ph.D. (B.S. ’49) is being honored for his work in the fields of psychology and education. Hicks is one of the first African Americans to receive a doctorate in physiological psychology. Hicks taught at Howard University for 59 years and served as a professor for 47 years. As chairman of the Department of Psychology at Howard, he co-founded Howard’s doctoral program in psychology in 1968; and it was under his chairmanship that Howard became the first Historically Black College and University with an accredited clinical psychology program by the American Psychological Association.


Founded in 1867, Howard University is a private, research university that is comprised of 13 schools and colleges. Students pursue studies in more than 120 areas leading to undergraduate, graduate and professional degrees. Since 1998, the University has produced two Rhodes Scholars, two Truman Scholars, a Marshall Scholar, 30 Fulbright Scholars and 11 Pickering Fellows. Howard also produces more on campus African-American Ph.D. recipients than any other university in the United States. For more information on Howard University, call 202-238-2330, or visit the University's Web site at

 Howard University Office of University Communications,
2225 Georgia Ave. NW,
Suite 603, Washington, D.C. 20059
Webmaster / Contacts
- WWW Disclaimer
Follow Howard U.on :
Facebook Twitter Blog
free html visitor counters