Nomination Invitation: Pew Scholars Program in the Biomedical Sciences

The Pew Charitable Trusts invites you to nominate a candidate for the 2014 Pew Scholars Program in the Biomedical Sciences award. Please read the details below carefully as the Pew Scholars’ candidate nomination process has changed and nominations of applicants will not be accepted after July 15, 2013.

The PEW Charitable Trust

The Pew Scholars Program supports assistant professors of outstanding promise in science relevant to the advancement of human health. The award provides $240,000 in flexible support—$60,000 per year for a four-year period.


Based upon our analysis of the institutional nominee selection process that was completed last year, we suggest the following guidelines for all institutions that nominate a candidate:


  • Research Administrative Services should distribute this invitation and award eligibility details to all investigators through a campus-wide email announcement or website posting.
  • Interested applicants should submit pre-proposal materials, including a research project summary, curriculum vitae, and a letter of support from the chair of his or her division, to Research Administrative Services, which will submit them to an internal selection committee for consideration.
  • The internal selection committee should be made up of three or more notable scientists from your institution and include diversity in terms of gender, minority status, and academic fields. We encourage the inclusion of Pew Scholars alumni in the internal selection committee.
  • The internal selection committee should evaluate and discuss the pre-proposals and select the most suitable applicant for the Pew Scholars Program award.
  • To nominate a candidate, a member of the internal selection committee must complete the online survey found here, describe the selection process used by the institution, and submit the name and contact information of the chosen applicant by July 15, 2013. Nominations of applicants to the program will not be considered after July 15, 2013.
  • Once the Pew program office has received the completed survey and the name and contact information of the applicant, login information will be emailed directly to the selected applicant.  The online application web site will open August 1, 2013 and the submission deadline is November 1, 2013.

Please note that candidates may not be nominated to the Pew Scholars’ program without a review of applicants by a selection committee. Candidates may only be selected for the current year’s competition. Unsuccessful candidates who still meet eligibility criteria may reapply in future competitions by submitting new pre-proposal materials. Competition to the Pew program must be opened to all eligible faculty members each year. Institutions that preselect candidates for future competitions will no longer be considered an eligible institution to nominate a candidate to the program.


Please adhere to the following eligibility criteria when considering candidates to nominate to the program:


  • Candidates must have been awarded a doctorate in biomedical sciences or medicine.
  • As of November 1, 2013, nominees must hold full-time appointments at the rank of assistant professor.
  • On July 1, 2013, candidates must have been in such an appointment for less than three years (not appointed before July 1, 2010), whether or not such an appointment was on a tenure track.
  • Candidates may be nominated by their institution two times in total. ALL applicants must be nominated by their institution and must complete the 2014 online application.
  • If an applicant’s university has more than one eligible nominating institution or campus, that applicant may only apply from one institution; they may not reapply in a subsequent year from a different one.
  • Applicants with committed awards that overlap for the first two years of the Pew Scholars Program from the Searle Scholars Program, Rita Allen Foundation Scholars, Burroughs Wellcome Fund Career Award for Medical Scientists, Beckman Young Investigator Program, Ellison New Scholar Award, W.M. Keck Foundation, Damon Runyon-Rachleff Innovation Award, and the Kimmel Scholar Award are not eligible. The selection committee should not simultaneously nominate the same applicant to the Pew Scholars Program and for any of the awards listed above.

Beginning in July 2014, institutions that do not nominate a candidate for five consecutive years and also have not been awarded a Pew Scholar in the last decade will not be eligible to nominate a candidate to the Pew Scholars Program for the 2015 award. 

A complete description of the Pew program, its terms, and its eligibility requirements can be found at The online application will open August 1, 2013. The deadline for applicants to submit a complete application is November 1, 2013.

We look forward to receiving an application from your institution. Should you have any questions or concerns, please contact me at 215-531-8135.

Anita Pepper, Ph.D.
Pew Scholars Program in the Biomedical Sciences