Ralph J. Bunche Center Howard University

President Swygert Is Elected FPA Fellow

President H. Patrick Swygert has been named a Fellow of the Foreign Policy Association, the nation's oldest international affairs organization.

Founded in 1918, FPA educates Americans about foreign policy issues in the belief that an informed citizenry is vital to an effective democracy. A nonprofit and nonpartisan organization, FPA reaches citizens in 47 states with its Great Decisions discussion program, publications, public forums, and other educational activities..

Originally formed as the League

President Swygert

of Free Nations Association by a group of distinguished Americans to support President Woodrow Wilson's peace efforts, the Association was reconstituted in 1923 as the Foreign Policy Association with a commitment to the careful study of all sides of international question affecting the U.S. John Foster Dulles and Eleanor Roosevelt were among the incorporators.

The group sponsors lectures and other programs in various cities throughout the country, and since 1935 has been publishing its prestigious Headline Series, which is well known for its clear and impartial analysis of foreign policy issues. FPA's "Off-the-Record" lecture series was formed in 1938 and


continues today with a membership of close to 600, holding meetings 11 times a year to hear and to question authorities on foreign affairs.

FPA publishes Citizen's Guide to Foreign Policy every election year.

In addition to becoming a Foreign Policy Association Fellow during the year, President Swygert received the 2001 Thurgood Marshall Scholarship Fund's Educational Leadership Award at the Fund's 14th Anniversary Awards Dinner on October 29, 2001.

Bunche Centenary Will Be Observed in 2003

The Ralph Johnson Bunche Centenary will be observed nationally and worldwide in 2003, according to a committee established in New York recently to encourage and oversee activities.

Two former presidents – Jimmy Carter and George H. Bush, and UN Secretary General Kofi Annan – are honorary co-chairs of the Ralph Bunche Centenary Commemoration with two renowned Bunche scholars – Dr. Benjamin Rivlin and Sir Brian Uquhart, and Ambassador Terence Todman – spearheading the effort.

Studies, honors, symposia, curriculum enrichment, and public programs are being developed in the US and in foreign countries to celebrate the life and work of the former Howard University political science professor who became an international civil servant and the first person of color to win the Nobel Peace Prize. Dr. Bunche, at the time Undersecretary General of the United Nations, was awarded the prize in 1950 for his mediation in the Arab- Israeli conflict.

Howard University, which has named its international affairs center in honor of Dr. Bunche, is represented on the planning committee by Ambassador Horace G. Dawson Jr., director of the Bunche center.

Two members of the National Ralph J. Bunche Centernary
Committee meet at the Bunche Center with the
Washington, D.C., committee. They are Dr. David
Rivlin (left); and Ambassador Terence Todman (right).
Dr. Badi Foster (center) of the Phelps Stokes Fund is a
member of the Washington, D.C., committee. In the
background are US Ambassadors Ronald Palmer,
George Moose, and John E. Reinhardt.

Other members of the committee include Mr. Kwame Appiah, Ms. Joan Bunche, Dr. Herschelle Challenor, Mr. James Dandridge, Dr. Lawrence Finklestein, Mr. William Greaves, Dr. Charles Henry, Mr. Wally N’Dow, Ms. Nancy Okada, Ambassador Terence Todman, Dr. Scott Waugh, Dr. Ron Walters, and Dr. Thomas Weiss.


About the Center | Bunche Center Newsletter | Programs and Events | International Affairs Links
International Affairs Summer Enrichment Program | Patricia Roberts Harris Public Affairs Program | The Globe
Opportunities for HU Students | Study Abroad

2001 Howard University, all rights reserved.
Ralph J. Bunche International Affairs Center, Howard University
2218 Sixth Street, NW, Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-4363   Fax: (202) 387-6951 or (202) 806-5424
Contacts - WWW Disclaimer